Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Tweakui

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Tweakui

    I have Tweakui installed..or rather I did..the only thing left is the icon in the Control Panel. I want to get rid of the Icon. Suggestions.
    TIA
    Sorry..the entire thing is still in my system..I don't want any of it at all...it won't uninstall at all, using it's own uninstall instructions...HELP!!!!!! <img src=/S/scream.gif border=0 alt=scream width=15 height=15>

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Fathead
    Guest

    Re: Tweakui

    Click "My Computer"
    Click "Add/Remove Programs"
    Click the install/unstall tab
    highlight Tweak UI
    click add/remove
    And you should be on your way

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tweakui

    <img src=/S/sigh.gif border=0 alt=sigh width=15 height=15>
    Sorry..but went that route already..it is no longer listed in the add/remove section...it is still showing up (icon & program) in Control Panel. Now what? <img src=/S/weep.gif border=0 alt=weep width=21 height=16> <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15>

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tweakui

    As far as I know, control panel components have a .cpl extension.
    Do a search - you should find them all in your windowssystem32 folder.
    With a bit of luck, it should be readily recognizable by it's name - right_clicking on properties may lead you to the product name for confirmation.
    Having found it, you will need to reboot to DOS to manipulate it - Windows is likely to not release it while running.
    I suggest you move it first rather than delete it (just in case) - something like:<pre>move c:windowssystem32tweak.cpl c:
    </pre>

    should work.

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tweakui

    Thanks for your reply. I guess it will just have to stay in my computer. I don't know how to do DOS stuff or anything like moving stuff - I didn't download Tweakui...my son did - he thought it would be helpful to me. I don't tinker with stuff at all. Thanks for the help. <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/shy.gif border=0 alt=shy width=15 height=15>

  7. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tweakui

    You just try rebooting to DOS from Me! You can get a DOS prompt within Windows, but otherwise you'd need to boot into DOS from a floppy.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  8. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tweakui

    You could try reinstalling it and then running uninstall again; but if it's not causing you any problems, then I'd leave it alone!
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  9. #8
    jshipman
    Guest

    Re: Tweakui

    Tweakui in Windows ME Where can I find it?
    I bought a new computer with ME and really miss not have Tweakui Where oh Where can I find it <img src=/S/smash.gif border=0 alt=smash width=30 height=26>

  10. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Tweakui

    I have just added TweakUI to the <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showflat.pl?Cat=&Board=free&Number=47785&page=0&vi ew=collapsed&sb=5&o=0&part=> Software Finds </A> board.
    This version (1.1) will work with any of the current released versions of Windows 9x and 2K and Nt 4.0.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #10
    jshipman
    Guest

    Re: Tweakui

    thanks a heap Dave I now have it on Windows ME and will dl it to my Windows98SE machine at work <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •