Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Home)

    I'm having some problems that seem to relate to my network / log-on settings. Since I graduated college, I am no longer on a network, and am the only one who uses this computer.

    My log-on name is "Jonathan Rick" (via TweakUI I log-on automatically).

    My "full computer name" and "workgroup" (My Computer | Properties | Computer Name) are "jrick" and "HAMILTON-s"

    I want to delete my full computer name and workgroup, or, if that can't be done, to revert both to their default settings.

    Unfortunately, after clicking the Change button, whenever I delete the name or workgroup, the OK button grays out.

    Any ideas? Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Home)

    I don't think you can have a completely blank computername or workgroup name. Put some text in those boxes and the OK button should be active again.

    StuartR

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Home)

    Do you know what the default names are? Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Home)

    The full computer name is supplied by the user (you) on installation, there is no default value, so choose anything you like.
    The default workgroup name is MSHOME.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Home)

    When you are choosing your "default" computername, make sure that you don't have two computers with the same name on the same network.

    StuartR

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Home)

    Thanks Hans. You too Stuart (again).

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Hom

    And hey, although I don't know anything about you except that your profile has indicated that you were in college,

    CONGRATULATIONS on your graduation. It must've just happened, huh? Don't know what's up for you now or even what field you're into, but best of luck to you!

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Hom

    Thanks Al. It happened a month ago!

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Home)

    I hope someone else can help you, this stuff is all Greek to me.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Home)

    I just tried changing the domain to "MSHOME," but I received the following message:

    ***
    A domainc controller for the domain MSHOME could not be contacted. Ensure that the domain name is typed correctly. If the name is correct, click Details for troubleshooting information.
    ****

    Clicking Details brings up the following:

    ***
    Note: This information is intended for a network administrator. If you are not your network's administrator, notify the administrator that you received this information, which has been recorded in the file C:WINDOWSdebugdcdiag.txt.

    The domain name MSHOME might be a NetBIOS domain name. If this is the case, verify that the domain name is properly registered with WINS.

    If you are certain that the name is not a NetBIOS domain name, then the following information can help you troubleshoot your DNS configuration.

    The following error occurred when DNS was queried for the service location (SRV) resource record used to locate a domain controller for domain MSHOME:

    The error was: "DNS name does not exist."
    (error code 0x0000232B RCODE_NAME_ERROR)

    The query was for the SRV record for _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.MSHOME

    Common causes of this error include the following:

    - The DNS SRV record is not registered in DNS.

    - One or more of the following zones do not include delegation to its child zone:

    MSHOME
    . (the root zone)

    For information about correcting this problem, click Help.
    ****

    Clicking Help brings up this:

    ***
    Troubleshooting network identificationError: This computer could not locate a domain controller for the Active Directory domain displayed in the error message because the Domain Name System (DNS) servers used by this computer for name resolution failed to look up the service (SRV) resource record.

    Cause: The DNS SRV resource record is not registered in DNS.

    Solution: Verify that the SRV resource record for the requested domain and service type exists in DNS. You can do this using the Dcdiag command-line tool, which must be run on a domain controller for the Active Directory domain you entered. To download Dcdiag, see the Download Center on the Microsoft Web site(go to http://www.microsoft.com/ and search for "download center.").

    Cause: One or more of the zones listed in the error message do not include a delegation to its child zone.

    Solution: Verify DNS zone delegations by using the Nslookup command-line tool.

    See also: DNS requirements for joining an Active Directory domain.
    ***

    Note: I've been having some problems with administrative privileges on my computer.

    According to Control Panel | User Accounts, there are three users: Administrator, ASPNET and Jonathan Rick. Administrator and Jonathan Rick are both part of the "Administrators" group; ASPNET is part of "Users." The domain for them all is "JRICK." I log-in to Windows using Jonathan Rick.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Home)

    It appears that you are switching from a "Domain" to a "Peer to peer" type of network. When going through the wizard make sure you have selected "Set up a home or small office network". Continue on.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Home)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Jon_Rick on 31-Aug-05 11:49. )</P>Hi Dave,

    Thanks for your helpful, prompt reply. Unfortunately, while I have the other buttons shown in your picture, I don't have the (third) one for setting up a home or small office network...

    Of note: Starting the Network Setup Wizard (%SystemRoot%System32rundll32.exe hnetwiz.dll,HomeNetWizardRunDll) gives me this:

    ***
    The wizard detected that this computer belongs to a domain. Therefore, you cannot use this wizard to set up a network.
    ***

    Also, I'm using Win XP Pro.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Home)

    Does the computer belong to a domain or a workgroup?

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Pro

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Jon_Rick on 31-Aug-05 12:15. )</P>No workgroup; the domain (a leftover from college that I no longer need) is students.hamilton.edu

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Changing Full Computer Name and Workgroup (Home)

    Have you looked at the help in Windows about removing the network. You may need to remove it completely and start over.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •