Lounger
    Thanks

USB Flash Memory (SP2)

I have noticed that whenever I plug in a San Disk Cruzer 128MB or 256 MB card while computer is on I am able to access them normally. If I put computer into Hibernate Mode or turn computer completely off I no longer have access to these devices but can regain access by removing and then reinstalling them. Is this normal operation? A Memorex Scanner that is a USB device remains recognizable through shutdowns. Any thoughts appreciated.

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: USB Flash Memory (SP2)

I'm just getting used to XP, so I'm not an expert here, but I can put a flash drive in a USB port, hibernate, restart, & the drive is recognized. Mine is a Memorex 256 drive. Make sure you have the latest drivers for your USB devices.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

Check the power settings in your Device Manager. Right Click My Computer and Select Manage. When the management console opens click on 'Device Manager'. Open USB Controllers and right click on 'Root USB Hub' and select Properties. Click on the 'Power Management' tab and make sure that 'Allow the computer to turn this device off...' is not checked.

Joe
    Joe

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Hi Joe:
    Based on your post, I just checked my settings for USB Root Hub (all 6 of them). All of them had the setting "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power". However, I haven't experienced the problem mentioned by the OP. Would you advise unchecking this option on all my hubs?
    Thanks,

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts