Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: I Hate AMD!

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    I Hate AMD!

    Which is unfortunate because I currently have 2 AMD motherboards and an AMD CPU sitting on my desk.

    I have a Chaintech 7AIA5 which I believe works. I also have an HP/Compaq 5187-4094 motherboard and XP 2800+ (Barton) CPU one or other of which doesn't. Since the Chaintech is only rated at 266 FSB and the CPU from the HP/Compaq appears to be rated at 333 FSB I'm guessing it would be a bad idea to put the CPU in the former.

    On another note ... someone asked me to look at a PC (anyone in the UK will be familiar with the the PC World brand eMachine) which is an AMD XP 2600+ which wont power up for more than about a second (it just flashes it's lights then dies), I've largely stripped this system down with no better result so any ideas as to why this might be would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Backards Compatibility

    Another thing (about AMD backwards compatibility) ... does anyone know which chips are likely to be backwards compatible with which kinds of boards i.e. if a board is build for a Barton will a lower spec one (say a Sempron, which I think is the one before the Barton) work in it?

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I Hate AMD!

    <hr>
    On another note ... someone asked me to look at a PC (anyone in the UK will be familiar with the the PC World brand eMachine) which is an AMD XP 2600+ which wont power up for more than about a second (it just flashes it's lights then dies), I've largely stripped this system down with no better result so any ideas as to why this might be would be greatly appreciated.
    <hr>

    Bad power supply, most likely.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: I Hate AMD!

    See if this helps any.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: I Hate AMD!

    Hi Vampyre,

    Putting the CPU from the HP/Compaq into the Chaintech MB shouldn't be a problem (assuming the CPUs have the same pin arrangement), provided the older MB also suuports the new chip's voltage requirements - the later chips generally require lower voltages than earlier ones and may not take too well to being run at a higher voltage. The difference in supported FSB speeds won't matter - the only effect is that the CPU will run slower, with an effectively lower rating reported by the BIOS too (probably around 2200-2300). You might even be able to overcome that by changing the CPU's clock multiplier.

    Cheers
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: I Hate AMD!

    I've seen "flashes lights and dies" caused by a faulty CPU fan, or a disconnected CPU fan sensor.

    It only takes a few seconds for an AMD CPU to fry itself if it gets too hot, so they power down pretty quickly if the cooling doesn't work.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thanks For The Replies ...

    ... I don't think it's the fan because the fan spins up momentarily (for less than a second) then stops as power ceases .... IMO there is no way that the CPU can be overheating (the only reason I can see a fan affecting system performance), at least not in a normal fashion. Could be wrong though :-)

    Anyway, it's academic now, the problem appears to be that the blokes electricity supply was fluctuating (he had a power surge plug but that doesn't, apparently, protect against under-voltages), the board or CPU is definitely dead BUT the guy has a 5 year insurance on it and it's 2 years old so I've told him to play dumb, not mention the voltage and return it whence it came.

    Thanks for the advice Macropod ... I will do a little research and may well try that :-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •