Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York City, New York, USA
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    I hope someone can help me, as I'm almost bald from pulling my hair out! When I start up IE (version 6.0.2900, SP2, 128-bit) everything is fine. I can click on links and get to other pages with no problem. The problem starts when I type and address into the address bar and then either click "go" or press "enter." What happens is the "Windows Installer" dialogue box appears with the words "preparing to install". It then stays that way...forever. Nothing installs. If I do CTR/ALT/DEL and try to "end task" on the Windows Installer, not only does WI close, but IE closes as well.

    This is what I"ve done so far...I tried going into Help (on the toolbar) / Detect and Repair but it's not there (maybe it's not supposed to be there). Then I went into Control Panel / Add-Remove and looked for Internet Explorer or Microsoft Internet Explorer and it's not listed. I've been trying to "repair" IE but I can't figure out a way. I even tried to update Windows Installer, but I must have the lastest version (3.01.4000.1823).

    My computers' CV is: Dell Dimension 8300 / Windows / Office XP Home / SP2 with all the latest Microsoft updates.

    Hope someone can quide me.

    Thanks all.
    Debi
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)


  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York City, New York, USA
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    Hans,

    Thanks for the reply, but what I don't understand is that it speaks of reinstalling WINDOWS XP-sp2, saying nothing about reinstalling IE (I already have SP2 installed). I'll look it over and get back to you.
    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    Internet Explorer is such an integral part of Windows XP that repairing/reinstalling Internet Explorer amounts to repairing/reinstalling Windows XP.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York City, New York, USA
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    Hans - tried reinstalling xp2. Didn't work. The Windows Installer still comes up when I put in a new address in the address bar.
    Would it make any sense to uninstall IE...and then reinstall it?
    Why isn't IE in the add/remove progam panel?
    Any other ideas?

    Thanks.
    Debi

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    Is it possible that some other program has changed your main IE address bar in some way? There are programs designed to scan for BHOs (Browser Helper Objects), perhaps even the major anti-spyware programs will spot them if they are there.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York City, New York, USA
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    Thanks for the reply. I've run Ad-Aware, BHO Demon, Spyware Blaster, Hijack This, Ad-Aware, Spybot, MS Antispyware, McAfee and maybe, one or two others.

    How can I repair IE and why isn't it in my Add/Remove programs listing?

    Thanks.
    Debi

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    Just in case you haven't tried yet, got to Tools|manage Add-ons in the Interenet Explorer Menu Bar and see whether there is any setting there that you usefully alter.

    One of the "new features" of Windows XP ("the Windows eXPerience") is that it is no longer possible to Remove IE - because it would be necessary to Remove Windows Explorer at the same time. For that reason, it is very difficult to repair and it is not included in the Add/Remove progrmas listing.
    Gre

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York City, New York, USA
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    Tried the Tools-managed Add-ons and disabled them. Still didn't work. BUT, I have new info for you. The Windows Installer finally went thru its process and the error message is "Install Server Not Responding". Unfortunately, there is no Error number.

    Is there another avenue I should take to try to figure this out. Microsoft won't help.
    I Googled "Windows Installer - Install Server not responding". - Not one hit.
    I'm now just looking thru the "Windows Installer" hits but it doesn't look promising that I will find my answer in 691,000 results.
    Where else should I look or should this go to another Forum in WOPR?

    Thanks.
    Debi
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Irvine, California, USA
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    Very wide screenshot reduced by HansV - please don't attach pictures over 640x480 pixels.

    Try this, your mileage may vary.
    If you are having problems only with Internet Explorer 6, proceed as follows:

    [Start] [Run] [Regedit]
    Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftActive SetupInstalled Components{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}
    Modify/Create the Value Data Type(s) and Value Name(s) as detailed below.
    Data Type: DWORD // Value Name: IsInstalled
    Setting for Value Data: [Change the Value from 1 to 0]
    Exit Registry
    This key should be there already. To modify, just right click the entry and select modify and change the 1 to a zero. I would then reboot and immediately go to Windows Update and it should put a new copy of IE on your machine. If not then go to the MS download center and do it that way. Be cautious if you are not comfortable in the registry. As a precaution I would download a copy of Firefox just in case something weird happens you will have a browser.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg x.jpg (25.9 KB, 1 views)

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    Two things:<UL><LI>I would strongly recommend setting a restore point before you try altering the Registry - as suggested in the immediately preceding post. <LI>e best Lounge Forum for Windows Installer issues is probably the Windows XP Forum. I will happily move this existing thread there - if you wish. OTOH it may be best to stat a new thread - referring to this one by the Post Number of your inital enquiry - as the research done so far will become clearer to new readers.[/list]HTH
    Gre

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Irvine, California, USA
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    Hans - I am sorry about the size of my previous attachment and the length of this post.

    If the installer is the problem as suggested by others here are the first 5 MS fixes to try.
    Method 1
    Unregister Windows Installer, and then reregister Windows Installer. To do this, follow these steps:
    1. On the "Start" menu, click "Run:.
    2. In the "Open" box, type "msiexec /unreg", and then press ENTER.
    3. On the "Start" menu, click "Run".
    4. In the "Open" box, type "msiexec /regserver", and then press ENTER.

    Method 2
    Upgrade to Windows Installer version 2 or newer version. To do this, follow these steps:
    1. Start Microsoft Internet Explorer, and then browse to the following Microsoft Web site: http://msdn.microsoft.com/downloads
    2. In the left pane tree menu, click "Setup and System Administration", and then click "Setup".
    3. Click "Windows Installer", and then click the appropriate link for your operating system.
    4. Click "Download" to download and install Windows Installer version 2 or newer version.

    Method 3
    Use Windows Installer CleanUp Utility to uninstall the failed product.
    Description of the Windows Installer CleanUp Utility
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...kb;en-us;290301

    Method 4
    The Windows Installer service may be disabled on the machine.
    1. Go to "Start" -> "Run" , type "services.msc" and press on "Enter" button.
    2. Double-click on the service named "Windows Installer".
    3. Check the value in the "Startup type:" field. If it's currently set to "Disabled", then this is the problem. Change it by selecting "Manual" from the drop-down box.

    Method 5
    Empty user and system "temp" folders.
    1. Empty "%systemdrive%temp" folder.
    2. Empty "%systemdrive%%windir%temp" folder.
    3. Empty "%systemdrive%Documents and Settings%username%Local SettingsTemp".

    The last one should be done regularly as part of a maintainence program.
    If these do not solve your problem, a slegehammer will put your box out of its misery.

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York City, New York, USA
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    Sinjin - Thanks so much for your efforts. I printed out your "Method" post and did everything. Too bad my IE has now reverted to SP1 (even though I inserted the Sp2 CD from Microsoft) and I'm still having the Windows Installer / IE address bar problems.

    A thought: I did a search for msiexec and came up with 4 of them (see attached) - with 3 different version numbers. (BTW, I didn't count the one in Prefetch). Here goes: C:Windows

    I386: version 2.0.2600.1106
    $MSI31... version 2.0.2600.1106
    System32 version 3.1.4000.1823
    Service Pack version 3.0.3790.2180

    Is this as it should be or is my Windows Installer as confused as I am?
    BTW, the Windows Installer clean up utility does not mention IE, so I didn't run it. (Method 4)

    You've been so kind Sinjin with your help. What do I do now?
    Thanks, again.

    Debi
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York City, New York, USA
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    I keep setting "restore points". I even tried to restore (I can go back about 2-1/2 weeks) but it won't take.

    BTW, how do I get IE back to SP 2?

    I think I'll take your advice before I jump out the window and post (with referral) to the XP forum...sometime tomorrow.

    Thanks for your help.
    If you get any brilliant ideas, please post
    Debi <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/scream.gif border=0 alt=scream width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/scream.gif border=0 alt=scream width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/scream.gif border=0 alt=scream width=15 height=15>

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Use Address Bar (IE 6.0.2.2900 SP2)

    >I keep setting "restore points". I even tried to restore (I can go back about 2-1/2 weeks) but it won't take.

    On the basis that you do realise that restore points simply apply to the Registry and not to Data, how does the Restore "not take"? (In other words, after enabling a Restore Point from 2 weeks ago, all the data you produced during the last 2 weeks will still be there. Only REgistry Changes and newly installed Programs that rely on the Registry will be affected.)

    >how do I get IE back to SP 2?

    If you installed SP2 using Windows Update, then Windows Update will eagerly try to reinstall it for you the next time you visit! (From what you say, it seems that you did not have a CD install.)

    HTH
    Gre

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •