Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    cannot add the icon to the taskbar (WinXP SP2)

    When I do a cold boot, not a logoff/on, I always get this small error box. Since this doesn't happen during logoff/on, i believe this is coming from some driver or service. The author is an idiot for not putting the name of the program/service generating the message in the title bar, instead of just the word "Error". Anyone have any ideas on how to trace this down, again given that it is likely a service/driver and gets initialized prior to me being able to run any individual user-level programs?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: cannot add the icon to the taskbar (WinXP SP2)

    Have you tried to use Task Manager to identify the application or process?

    You can also download and install the free utility Sysinternals Freeware - Autoruns. It provides a comprehensive overview of everything that starts automatically on your system.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: cannot add the icon to the taskbar (WinXP SP2)

    Click Start | Run, type EVENTVWR and hit Enter.

    On Event Viewer window, select Application on the left pane and double-click each event marked red X "Error" on the right pane. Please post errors description - it will be very helpful.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: cannot add the icon to the taskbar (WinXP SP2)

    AutoRuns is an interesting program. I've used Mike Lin's StartupCPL program but AutoRuns is a better program with more functionality. That being said, it was of no real use in solving this issue.

    As to Kapliub's suggestion to check the event logs, I had already done that and there are no event records related to this error.

    So I needed a more creative solution. Given that I had a text message to work with, I thought that the text must be present inside a program somewhere. Might not have been true if the text was pasted together from a word table but that isn't too common. Most of the time, error messages are stored as data strings in programs.

    I first tried to use Yahoo Desktop search on all files indexed to look for the text string BUT then realized that I wasn't indexing things like .exe files. So I moved to AgentRansack where I did a search through the 2 logical drives (on *.*) where the program might be starting from. Voila!

    The program that is issuing this message is NirSoft's freeware TurnFlash program (http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/tflash2.html). Since all it does is run an icon in the tray that let's you turn flash on/off, I don't have any idea why this message might be issued. I use a bunch of this guys programs (all appear to be free) and most work rather well. Unfortunately, he has never return replied to any emails that I have sent him. He uses a Yahoo address, so who knows, maybe everything gets spam blocked. Or maybe he just ignores all incoming emails.

    Anyway, problem identified.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: cannot add the icon to the taskbar (WinXP SP2)

    With "400-500 software applications installed " there is not enough room to add one more icon?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: cannot add the icon to the taskbar (WinXP SP2)

    <img src=/S/clever.gif border=0 alt=clever width=15 height=15> Plenty more free space. I guess the program is stupid.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •