Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    MBSA 2.0 available

    Joe

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    Thanks for the info Joe, the improved help content is particularly useful.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    Good stuff Tony -- I never fail to be amazed how you track all these updates down!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    <img src=/S/whisper.gif border=0 alt=whisper width=29 height=17>It was Joe

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    I seem to remember having done this (at least?) once before!. My title of Mr Memory Man seems to be under threat...

    Anyway, MBSA won't scan my computer, and says:
    "Could not resolve the computer name: DELLIGHTFUL. Please specify computer name, domaincomputer, or an IP address."

    Doesn't work either when I put in 127.0.0.1 or my cable IP address. <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>

    John

    PS Sorry, Joe!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    John,
    From Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer Version 2.0 Help:

    MBSA and Administrator Accounts
    Scanning with MBSA requires you to run MBSA with an account that is an administrator on all scanned computers. Depending upon how your network has been secured, this can introduce significant risk should the user-account be compromised, but it is necessary to be able to scan for certain vulnerabilities. If this risk is acceptable, you should take steps to mitigate this risk. For example, making this account a member of the Domain Admins group requires less administrative overhead because the account automatically has the required rights on all potential clients, but if the account is compromised, the risk to the enterprise is severe. You should consider creating a special account for this purpose and enabling the account only when it is needed to scan domain computers. Making the account a local administrator on each target computer but not a member of the Domain Admins group requires you to manage this account on every target computer, but the risk of compromise is limited to the target computers themselves, not to the domain as a whole. You can further mitigate the threat by using only Kerberos authentication, which is less vulnerable to attacks than LanMan authentication, but doing so might require an upgrade to Active Directory.



    From MBSA 2.0 Frequently Asked Questions:

    Q. Why am I seeing error "Could not resolve the computer name: name. Please specify computer name, domaincomputer, or an IP address."?
    A. This error is common when scanning based on an IP address range. This is because MBSA will convert the range into a list of specific IP addresses for that range and attempt to resolve each IP address into the associated NetBIOS computer name. When that name resolution cannot be performed because the computer is switched off, or the IP address is not in use, this error will be returned.

    The error can also happen when using a domain name of domain members are not accessible on the network, such as a laptop computer roaming outside the wireless network, or a desktop computer that has been shut down.

    If you specify a DNS fully qualified domain name (FQDN) as the domain to be scanned, you will also see these errors. In that case, you need to use the NetBIOS compatible domain name.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    Joe

    Thanks, but I did actually scour the Help info first, and it didn't apply because I am running on an administrator account AND this is just a single, non-networked, computer (unless you count internet connection!) -- so just a single IP. Same result after this morning's power on. I'm still puzzled!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    John,

    Have you tried an uninstall and reinstall? Even though it supposedly is not necessary have you uninstalled 1.2.1? Have your tried workgroupnamecomputername?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    Joe

    I hadn't tried an uninstall/reinstall but I have now - same result!
    I didn't have a previous version of MBSA loaded.
    I has tried "workgroupcomputername" before -- this gets the security update information downloaded, but then a pause, and a similar error message.

    I think that all rates a Grrrrh.

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    John,

    Here's the minimum system requirements from MBSA 2.0 Datasheet

    System Requirements
    Joe

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    Does your firewall log show any blocked connections on unusual ports?

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    Joe and Jefferson

    Norton is quite good at hiding that sort of information, so I turned off the firewall for the time it took to try another MBSA scan...
    ... which gave exactly the same error message as before! I think I will give up, because I get the usual Windows and Office updates through without any problems.

    However, I can't get Trend Micro Anti-Spyware to update its definitions either, again with or without the firewall enabled.

    All other updates work: Ad-Aware, Spybot, Spyware Blaster, Microsoft Anti-Spyware Beta...

    John

    PS Why are PCs so straightforward and uncomplicated?
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    > However, I can't get Trend Micro Anti-Spyware to update its definitions either, again with or without the firewall enabled.

    Did you register it? If not, this might be a "feature" that prevents one from running the evaluation version forever... worth checking the FAQ, etc.

  14. #14
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MBSA 2.0 not running on my PC - problem solved

    People may remember the problems I have had in getting MBSA 2.0 to work on my home PC, which runs XP Pro SP2. Specifying any of
    <pcname>
    <workgroupname><pcname>
    <workgroup<pcname>
    127.0.0.1
    localhost
    <network IP address>
    in the computer name or IP address fields all cause a message "Could not resolve the computer name", or similar

    I was also getting an odd problem showing in the Application Event Log:
    Event ID: 2002
    Source: PerfNet
    "Unable to open the Redirector service. Redirector performance data will not be returned."

    I think I have tracked the source of both problems down to the fact that I didn't have a Workstation service. No, it was not listed, not just stopped or disabled -- it wasn't there at all!

    If you go to Control Panel -> Network Connections -> Local Area Connection -> General -> Properties, among the items used by the connection you will probably find "Client for Microsoft Networks". I didn't have this, so I had to do Install -> Client. This has magically caused the Workstation service to appear, MBSA 2.0 works correctly, and I don't think I'll have any PerfNet messages any more!

    It is pleasing to report a successful conclusion!

    John

    PS This solution was hinted at in one of Joe's answers above, but I didn't spot it! <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> to Joe, anyway!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: MBSA 2.0 available

    John,

    <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> Great detective work. Glad you found that. Many other services require the Workstation service. Guess you are lucky that there weren't other 'issues'.

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •