2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Circular reference? (Excel 2000)

I have a multi-worksheet model, and I'm getting some wierd results which I think may be caused by a circular reference.

In broad terms this is what (the relevant bit of) my model does:-

I import a list values into column a in sheet 1.
    I manually enter adjustments into columns b-e. Column f is a subtotal.
    Sheet 2 copies the values from column a in sheet 1, and then aportions them according to pre-defined criteria formula in sheet 2. The apportioned values are listed in a later column in sheet 2.

Back in sheet 1, column g pulls in the apportioned values column from sheet 2.

Column h is a futher sub-total, which is then used to populate another sheet elsewhere in my model.

The strange values seem to be related to the rows which include an apportioned figure from sheet 2.

This sounds like a circular reference issue, but I am no expert on such things.

Can anyone tell me if my logic is flawed, or if I have done something which I must avoid? And if so, how I might avoid it.

And can anyone point me at any articles on the web dealing with such scenarios in multi-sheet models, what you mustn't do, and how to avoid it?

Many thanks in anticipation.

Neil

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Circular reference? (Excel 2000)

Do you see Circular: A1 or something like that in the status bar?

It would be helpful if you could attach a scaled down version of your workbook.

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

I haven' t seen a Circular:A1 (or similiar) message.

I will try to post a scaled down version later.

In the meantime, can anyone confirm if there is an inherent problem in setting up a multi sheet model like this:-

Sheet 1 has (say) 20 columns of data.

An external dataset is imported into column 1.

Calculations are performed which result in a subtotal in column 10.

Sheet 2 picks up the results from column 10 of sheet 1.