Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Need to copy website files back down to frontpage (xp)

    I created my website with frontpage on my laptop, which decided to bomb out on me...can't even turn it on.
    My backup copy of my website is not new enough to just overwrite changes on the web.
    Is there a way to "publish" backwards from the web back into Frontpage? When I went to publish to see which files were out of date, it looks like word's organizer. I was hoping there was a way to copy the web files somehow back into Frontpage.
    Earthlink hosts my site, but I can't seem to find a way to download the entire thing. If I try to import the site from Frontpage, I get a bunch of error messages that it can't import certain files.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Need to copy website files back down to frontp

    If you run a web server on your PC, you should be able to open the web on the Earthlink server and then publish to your PC to reestablish the local copy. Some things may be missed in this process. For example, if you use JavaScript to substitute a different "active" image when the user puts the mouse pointer over a navigation button, FrontPage may not pick up that extra image when it publishes to your PC. You'll know when you test. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need to copy website files back down to frontp

    Is it possible to use an FTP application and contact the website and reverse the order? I don't use Frontpage to upload my little site.

    When I installed FP2003 on my WinXP box, I just accessed my on-line server website, downloaded the site which I had created in FP2000 on a Win2000 box, with the FTP program, and then opened it back up in FP2003. However, maybe this is a more complicated website and can't be done this way? Just a curious Skitter!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Need to copy website files back down to frontp

    I'm more familiar with the official line on this than with the workarounds. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> Hopefully someone else can compare the FTP and publish-to-self methods.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Need to copy website files back down to frontp

    The following is from the Help in FP2003
    <blockquote><hr>Publish files from a remote Web site to a local Web site
    Note When you publish the files in your Web site in Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003, be aware that there are two kinds of Web sites: a local Web site and a remote Web site:.

    The local Web site is the source Web site that is open in FrontPage. A local Web site can be stored on either a local hard disk drive or a server.
    The remote Web site is the destination site to which you are publishing. Similarly, a remote Web site can be stored on either a local hard disk drive (if it is acting as a Web server, as in the case of http://localhost) or a remote Web server.

    This procedure enables you to do a reverse publish

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need to copy website files back down to frontp

    Thanks Dave for confirming the FTP method. I think I started doing it this way because FP and I never got along very well when I tried to update my online web page by "publishing". I use the same FTP client as you do but I think mine is still WS_FTP95 vintage. It works just fine for my use!! <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16> Here's hoping <!post=techtrain,497299>techtrain<!/post> got his problem solved!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Need to copy website files back down to frontp

    Mine is a version 6 vintage.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •