New Lounger
    Thanks

'Apply Template' advice requested (2003)

Greetings all. I'm a long-time Outlook add-in developer just entering the Word (and later, Excel, etc) add-in world. My basic add-in development is going mostly fine, but of course I'm dealing with the "wouldn't it be cool if..." requests coming down the pipe. The current request is along the lines of "When creating a new document, pop up a dialog asking for a handful of fields, stick the responses into custom properties and also tack a bunch of boilerplate text at the top of the new document with these fields". Of course, what *they* want is specific to them, and doesn't make a hell of a lot of sense to a "general" product offering (which the add-in is supposed to be).

I know what you're thinking: "that's what templates are for!". So the following paraphrases my conversations with them so far:

Me: So make a custom template with an AutoNew macro that pops up your dialog and stuff the custom properties. The template will also include the boilerplate.
    Them: Yeah, but users need to do File|New *and* choose our template, and most just choose "Blank Document".
    Me: Okay, so put your customizations into Normal.Dot, and use Group Policy to push out your customized version, so all blank documents will have your stuff.
    Them: Yeah, but some users have personalized their own Normal.Dot and don't want to lose their own stuff.
    Me: Argh! (well, okay, I didn't *say* that, but I was thinking it)

So, since they're getting the add-in installed anyway (it does other stuff), it's easy to also install some sort of template on each machine. What I'm not sure of is whether it's possible to force all new documents based on "Blank Document" to instead use my supplied template, *or* merge in a pre-existing boilerplate document and run a macro from an external document. I really don't want to put this customer-specific stuff into my actual add-in.