Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    262
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    upgrading to Win98

    We have an old ibm Thinkpad 560 that runs Win95 4.0 and we want to upgrade it to Win98 so we can use a PC Card USB adapter on it.
    We have a CD-ROM of Win98 (legally licensed but not anything special for the 560).
    The 560 does NOT have a CD-ROM drive on it.
    - How can we install Win98 on our laptop?
    - And... will there be any problems with using this 'generic' Win98 on this machine?
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: upgrading to Win98

    Without a CD-ROM drive or a way to connect an external CD drive to the system the only way I can think of is to copy the installation CD to 3.5 floppys using a disk spanning program and install from the floppys. The Thinkpad does have a 3.5 floppy drive , right ??

    As far as problems running the "generic" Win98, there shouldn't be any. But before you start, go to IBM's website and DL all the latest drivers for that system, just in case.

    <font color=red>Edited by Doc to add ...</font color=red> I just read your post on the Windows 95 board and realized that you said Windows 98 not Windows 98SE. If you aren't able to upgrade to 98SE then I suggest you not bother and donate the Thinkpad or trash it. SE was the first version to support USB in any way that was useful. And then only USB 1.1. In terms of bang-for-your-buck, what you want to do doesn't rate a POP !!
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    262
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: upgrading to Win98

    I'm not sure you can install something like that with 40 or 50 floppies - how woudl you or the install pgm even know which floppy to insert when?

    Here's a new idea: What if I buy a CD-ROM drive that works on the type of PC Card slots that the ibm 560 uses (PCMCIA)? Then I could install from the CD-Rom...

    Now, can I just buy any drive or does anybody know a certain type of drive that will plug into the card slot correctly and work on this laptop with Win 95?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: upgrading to Win98

    A few years ago I had a very[ old laptop running on Win 3.11 with Dos 6.2. I wanted to win 95 on it, just to see if it would work!

    I found a program called FX.exe. it is best to search for FX.hlp or FX.com(the older the version the better) on the internet. I found a link here but you may want to search a bit deeper

    I copied the files from the Win98 disc onto my PC in a folder called C:/win98.

    Copied FX.exe and FX.hlp onto the laptop and the PC directly onto the respective C Drives

    I then connected the two computers with a serial to serial cable and copied all of the Win98 folder from PC to Laptop.

    Having done this I ran the startup file from the laptop and it loaded.

    Serial to serial will take about 2 hours but it is a dirty fix <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>
    Jerry

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: upgrading to Win98

    If you can get hold of an adapter that will let you mount your laptop drive on a desktop PC then you could copy the W98 CD to the hard disk, and use it from there.

    StuartR

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: upgrading to Win98

    Rather than fuss with floppies, why not try what I did when I installed Windows 95 on my 486? I put the contents of the Windows CD on a Zip disk, then was able to use the Zip disk's Ghost utility to allow the parallel port zip drive to be assigned a drive letter in DOS. NB: you will have to use an OLD version of the Iomega drivers -- a Zip Tools disk has this on it, but none of the recent Iomega software contains anything to allow the drive to be used in DOS. Once I'd booted into DOS -- from a boot floppy -- I could access the Zip drive and start the Windows setup executable file. As far as the Windows setup file was concerned, I was setting up from a CD, but all of the files were residing on a zip drive. You don't need USB or a CD drive to make this method work, but you do need a working floppy drive and a working parallel port -- as well as a parallel port Zip drive and an antique set of Zip drive drivers. It works every time...

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: upgrading to Win98

    Sorry -- I meant to say "Guest," not "Ghost." Must have Norton on the mind today... Anyway, the utility you need to be able to do this is Iomega Guest.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanyon, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: upgrading to Win98

    I will also ask about upgrading to Windows on my parents old machine. I am only staying with them for a couple of days as they live interstate. They have a VERY old machine which had win95 on it but had never been reformatted in the last 10 years. I was hoping to do this, but upgrade to win98 (it does have a CD drive). The format process after booting from floppy went fine, however when I direct dos to the win98 cd from does for setup.exe - it can not find the application ("dir" for the cd does list other .exe files, but not setup). I have checked my WIN98 cd on my laptop even though I knew it was fine, and the setup.exe file is defintley there. Was there some issues about old computers not recognising the file, and is there a fix?
    Ta
    Willow

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: upgrading to Win98

    It's ages since I did this, but doesn't the Windows 98 CD have an UPDATE.EXE that is used when you are doing an upgrade?

    StuartR

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: upgrading to Win98

    Did you use a Windows 98 boot disk to boot the system ?? It may be something as simple as the files for Win 98 not being available. Try downloading the files and making a Windows 98 boot disk and then booting from that.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lanyon, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: upgrading to Win98

    Hi Stuart, I'm doing a complete reformat, not just an upgrade so I need to boot & format from a "clean" machine.
    Doc - yeah, have a Win98 boot...no joy!? I use your link and create a new boot anyway - thanks. Otherwise, I'm still hoping against hope for help folks (but I think like it or not, my parents may have to move slightly more into the "new age" and use the old machine as a paperweight!

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: upgrading to Win98

    You said that the dir command lists other .exe files, but not setup.exe. What are these other .exe files and can you see the setup.exe file when you put the CD in another machine ???

    Also, what are the hardware specs on this machine ?? Something that old may not support 98. Although I doubt that is what is causing the setup file not to be seen.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •