Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Firewire

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Firewire

    I'm a newbie , so forgive a dumb question ;woody recommends in XP for dummies ( which i just bought and found the site )
    that an adapter for my FireWire ( to USB 2.0 connection) is good enough for my camcorder ;since I trust woodys advice more than our cam salesman , i am inclined to believe , but i just wanted to check in case the book is not completely up to date. So , is it ?
    I dont have a firewire port on my new dell 9 that i know of , so........

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firewire

    Firewire was originally brought out for Apple & Macs but some PCs have adapted it also.

    Check this link for more detailed info on FIREWIRE
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firewire

    There are (now) two Fireware versions, I think, 400 Mbps and 800 Mbps (both "nominal", of course).

    You had to specify that you wanted (to pay for) a firewire card in a new Dell, and I got what was available at the time, a 400 Mbps one, and it now runs my external hard drive!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Firewire

    I'm pretty sure that you'll be OK with a Firewire to USB2 adapter.

    StuartR

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewire

    Thanx for the info. My old AMD didn't even burn so I have been out of date on technology, I should have bought the book before the computer. My wife bought a digital camcorder..........so I have been dealing with hooking it up . I appreciate all the help and advice.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewire

    ok , so where do i get this adapter , circuit city sales people , ( where i bought the camcorder in the 1st place ) say it doesn't exist ...
    lol - i think .... any suggestions ?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Firewire

    See for example Pixela - 1 : DV to USB 2.0 Transfer Cable, it features
    <hr>Firewire IEEE1394 to USB 2.0 Connection<hr>
    Alternatively you could get a Firewire card for your PC.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewire

    Thank You Hans , very helpful !
    ...I was hoping to avoid the hassle of installing a card.... I am kicking myself for
    not ordering it in the 1st place ....didnt know anything about them....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •