4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Using Downloaded VB.net Projects (Visual Studio.Net)

I am new to VB.Net and I am in the process of playing around to familiarise myself with the environment. This may seem simplistic but, here goes.
    I have downloaded some sample project files to folders on my desktop. How do I "use" them?
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

Silver Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Using Downloaded VB.net Projects (Visual Studio.Net)

Which version of Visual Studio are you using? Assuming you're using 2002 or 2003, the concept of Projects and Solutions is a little hard to understand at first. (I believe 2005 takes a different approach.)

A project (represented with a .vbproj or .csproj file) is simply a grouping of files that are used to create an Assembly or an Application (you may want to see your help documentation to read up on Assemblies if this is a new term for you). For instance, all files involved in my web application will be contained in my project. This includes all ASPX, CS or VB, and Config files that I've created or imported to use with my application. It can also include icons, images, other complete Assemblies, or any file that you import as part of your project.

This may not seem like a very useful concept until you think about building or deploying the application. When you create a setup project for your project, it automatically includes all files that are part of your project. This makes life much easier when deploying a web or windows application.