Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: margins (XP)

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    margins (XP)

    I have a letterhead template, the first page margin is 2" (to accomodate special letterhead) I want consecutive pages to be 1". I know how to accomplish this manually (inserting a section break, etc.) I want it to be automatic. If I use the tempalte and it is only one page, left margin is 2". If my letter is 2 pages, I want the 2nd page left margin to be 1".

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: margins (XP)

    Margin settings operate at the section level in Word, you cannot specify different first-page margins. You can specify a different first-page header, however, perhaps you can use that:
    - Select File | Page Setup...
    - Set the left margin to 1".
    - Activate the Layout tab.
    - Check 'Different first page'
    - Click OK.
    - Select View | Header and Footer.
    - Use the Drawing toolbar to place a rectangle on the left hand side of the first page.
    - Move and resize it to create a 2" margin on the page.
    - Select Format | AutoShape...
    - In the Layout tab, specify Square as wrapping style.
    - In the Colors and Lines tab, specify No fill and No line, to make the rectangle transparent.
    - Click OK.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: margins (XP)

    That's an excellent idea! I'll try it!
    Thank you!

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: margins (XP)

    Hans: this was perfect. I put a text box in the left margin, then converted it to a frame.... worked like a charm.
    Thanks.
    <img src=/S/bravo.gif border=0 alt=bravo width=16 height=30>

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Ref field

    I have one more issue on this template: On page one I have a "form field" wherre the user enters the name of the person the letter is to. In the header on the second page I have a "reference" field that uses the bookmark of the form field on the first page to automatically enter the Addressee's name. The field is not updating. I can manually open the header ont he second page and press "F9" and it will update, I want it to update automatically. I saved and closed the letter and when I reopened it, the field still had not updated. ??? <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Ref field

    The fields in the Headers and Footers are supposed to automatically update at Print or Print Preview time. I usually use Preview to see whether my changes are picked up. I realize that's an extra step in the workflow if you are not planning to print, but...

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ref field

    hummmm..... pooy.... oh well. Can't have it all, I guess...
    Thanks

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Ref field

    Is your 'Form Field' a genuine form field or a literal one? If it is real then you can set the property of the field to Calculate on Exit which should update the cross references for you.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ref field

    The form field is a real one. The field that isn't updating is a Reference field pointing to that one.... this does give me an idea. But, I did solve the problem. The template actually opens "locked" so the user can tab from one field to the next and enter the information. After tabbing away from the last field, a macro runs on "unlinks and unlocks" the template (so the text is all "vanilla"). I just added two lines of code to my macro:
    ActiveDocument.PrintPreview
    ActiveDocument.ClosePrintPreview
    It happens so fast you can't even see it and it updates the field.
    But, the fewer "working parts" the better... if when I tab away from the form field the reference field would update without running code, the better... is that what you were referring to?

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ref field

    I tried it... didn't work. But, the problem is solved. Keep those thinking caps on.
    <img src=/S/fanfare.gif border=0 alt=fanfare width=31 height=23>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •