Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Security Information Pane (6 Sp2)

    At a some what new site in their "Forum" I started getting the "Security Information" pane, asking if I want to continue or not. How do I set this as a Safe site and not have to click 'OK" on every move?
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Security Information Pane (6 Sp2)

    Dave,
    If you go to Internet Options> advanced tab, scroll all the way down to the next to last line item, you should UNcheck: "warn if changing between secure and non secure mode".

    I think that should do it for you.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Security Information Pane (6 Sp2)

    Not sure whose forum you're referring to but... this message typically is caused by developers hardcoding http:// references in a page that you opened with an https:// address. Frankly, I think it is good to have this warning, as a phishing attack may attempt to mix elements in this manner and it gives one additional way to double-check the veracity of the page. Accordingly, I would complain to the webmaster and suggest that all elements be addressed using the same protocol.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Security Information Pane (6 Sp2)

    All is working now, it must have been a hic-up at the site. I did nothing here on my machine.

    The pane was poping up everytime I moved from one message to another or to the index.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Security Information Pane (6 Sp2)

    The site was probably being 'upgraded for better access and service'. <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19> <img src=/S/sarcasm.gif border=0 alt=sarcasm width=15 height=15>

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •