Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Stop error BSOD

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Worcester, Worcestershire, England
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Stop error BSOD

    I am trying to fix my Father in laws PC, on startup you get the BSOD with
    the following Stop error :- 0x0000006B (0xC000009C,0x00000002,0x00000000,0x00000000)
    PROCESS1_INITIALIZATION_FAILED.

    He has not added any new software or hardware and says that he had left it
    on for a period of time and had the BSOD when he returned to it.
    I am unable to start the PC either in safe mode or by using the last known
    good config.

    Paul

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Stop error BSOD

    Maybe someone will come to the thread with an analysis of the stop error, I don't usually bother trying to track error codes down. But it sounds like something in hardware if the BSOD came during a running-but-idle period. Can you locate a bootable floppy disk, like an old DOS boot floppy? If so, try to start the machine with that. If something's wrong in hardware, this should fail also. Then the search will be on! You'll need to open the machine and (maybe) start by removing and re-seating the RAM sticks and checking all cable connectors to see if they are tight and well seated. Something could have worked its way loose. This may be only a start!

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Stop error BSOD

    The only thing I could find was about a problem with Windows Embedded and missing a file system object. So, could be NTLDR is corrupt. You could try a repair install if you have a Win2k CD that is the same service pack as what is/was running.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Worcester, Worcestershire, England
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Stop error BSOD

    I have used an old win98 startup floppy and it boots ok to the A prompt I can then view the files on the C & D partitions OK.

    Paul

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Worcester, Worcestershire, England
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Stop error BSOD

    Although I was able to use an old win98 startup disk, I could not use the 4 install floppy disks for win2k. I then copied NTLDR & NTDETECT.COM files from another win2k PC put them on my faulty machine and this allowed me to use the 4 install floppy disks which then meant I could get to the win2k install CD and use the repair option. After running the repair option at least twice I managed to get win2k back up and running, although I had to do a re-install of MS office 2000 and spend a long time trying to recover outlook express.
    Got there in the end thanks all for your assistance.
    Paul

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Stop error BSOD

    Glad you got it worked out. Sorry you had to reinstall though. Did you try to boot the system after you copied NTLDR & NTDETECT.COM but before the repair? I would have thought that if they were the problem just restoring those two would've enabled a boot again.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Worcester, Worcestershire, England
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Stop error BSOD

    Yes I did try to boot the system after I had copied NTLDR & NTDETECT.COM and before I attempted the repair but I had the same problem. I have now moved the PC back to my Father In Law (1.5hr journey) and thought I only had to re-install his broadband modem (I had used it ok on a LAN at my house) but I have now got problems with the Dial Up Networking in w2k. The drivers for the modem install ok but there is no dial up connection been setup and I am unable to create one manually.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •