Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    pcanywhere and linksys

    In my network I have two linksys routers (4 ports and 8 ports) linking multiple computers together and onto the Internet. If router A is connected to the ADSL modem and router B is connected to router A (and then to the Internet). How can I set up a computer which is connected to router A so that I can use pcAnywhere to remotely access the machine? I know how to use the port forwarding for a network with one router only but what about 2 routers?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pcanywhere and linksys

    My first question is, do you really need to use both routers to connect all the PCs (and other equipment) to the network? If the 8 port device will cover everything off, that's your biggest hurdle (in my mind).

    Secondly, the computer you're installing pcAnywhere on, is just one pc correct? Or do you wish this to be on any pc connected to the router?

    Thirdly, which side of the ADSL modem are you trying to access the pcAnywhere box from (internet or LAN)? IF you're on the LAN side, which router are you connected to?

    Anymore information such as specific router model numbers, and which is 'A' and 'B' would be a tremendous help.
    Christopher Baldrey

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pcanywhere and linksys

    Thanks for the graphic swhli, that does help. However, I need to ask a few follow-ups now <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>.

    Can you give me the model numbers of Router A and Router B (I'd like to look over their manuals).

    Also, can you clarify where the pcAnywhere client is (Internet vs. On Router A vs. On Router B).

    And lastly (for now anyways)... are you currently using anyother applications in a similar fashion (eg. VNC / Windows Remote Control / etc.) on this network?
    Christopher Baldrey

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pcanywhere and linksys

    Hi Chris,

    The router connecting to the Internet is BEFSR41 and the one connecting to the pcAnywhere host is BEFSR81. The pcAnywere host needs to go onto the Internet through BEFSR81 and then BEFSR41 because BEFSR41 is the outer one to the net. I have tried using RealVNC and encountered the same problem.

    the issue is if you want to connect any computers in BEFSR41 remotely, that is not a problem because you can always forward the port (5631 and the local IP for the machine) in BEFSR41. However, the pcAnywhere host is in BEFSR81. Basically if you want to remotely access the host, you have to pass through two layers of router. Do you forward 5631 in BEFSR81 as well?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: pcanywhere and linksys

    The obvious thing to try is to forward port 5631 on Router A to Router B's IP address, and then to forward port 5631 on Router B to the target PC. Have you tried this?

    StuartR

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pcanywhere and linksys

    (Edited by Claude/StuartR/Leif to replace Word doc with user-friendly jpg.)

    Hi Chris,

    Yes I need to use both routers as we have quite a few machines in the network. I have attaced a zipped Word doc to illustrate the setup. A picture is worth more than a thousand words.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pcanywhere and linksys

    That's what I would have suggested also. Looks like I logged off just before the last bit of information came in.

    Thanks for jumping in Stuart.
    Christopher Baldrey

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: pcanywhere and linksys

    This link does not answer your question but may provide some incites on how to deal with more than one router network system.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •