Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    Has anyone else run into problems with Diskeeper and the latest versions of ZoneAlarm? I've uninstalled and reinstalled Diskeeper several times and have yelled for help from both publishers, but haven't received any so far. When I try to launch Diskeeper, I get an error which shows up in the event log as:
    Charlotte

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    Charlotte,

    I'd uninstall Diskeeper and get a copy of PerfectDisk. In my opinion it's a superior product with fewer glitches and problems.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    Charlotte,

    Is the RPC service running? Does Diskeeper need any permissions in ZAP?

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    Yes to both! <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23> I've given it permissions in ZAP, to no avail. <img src=/S/weep.gif border=0 alt=weep width=21 height=16>
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    You missed the point, Doc. Diskeeper was working and has been for years. Then I upgraded to ZAP 6.x and Diskeeper broke. I don't want to know that terrabyte drives leave less fragmented free space with another product, I want to know how to make what I have work! <img src=/S/bouncenburn.gif border=0 alt=bouncenburn width=31 height=31> I can compare products later. Right now I'm pulling my hair over ZoneAlarm and wondering if Diskeeper is a miner's canary telling me I have worse problems. <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>

    Oh, yeah, and how do I know that another product will work with ZAP if Diskeeper won't?
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    Charlotte,

    Here's Message Search - Zone Labs User Forum for rpc & diskeeper. Is port 135 allowed in ZAP?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    <center>
    <hr>how do I know that another product will work with ZAP if Diskeeper won't?<hr>
    </center>'Cause I just told you it would. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> Do you think I'd risk the wrath of Fluffy and Fang by recommending something that didn't work ?? I run both programs and have no conflicts or problems.

    Seriously though, I understand what you are saying. I offered an alternative when you asked for a solution. What sort of "worse problems" do you suspect that canary is warning you of ??? It sounds more like what Joe is saying about settings and permissions than any real trouble. If you turn off ZAP can you then run diskeeper ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    I'll have to check that tonight, Joe. You at least found some hits, I obviously wasn't searching properly. However, user forums in general (well, except for the Lounge <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>) are a pretty lousy substitute for software support and I really resent being offered that on a vendor's web site instead of just being able to yell for help and get it.
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    Probably not by this time, Doc. I'm thinking seriously of going back to my last image prior to ZAP 6.x and starting over. <img src=/S/headthrob.gif border=0 alt=headthrob width=15 height=15>
    Charlotte

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    Probably a good choice. <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    I couldn't agree more. More & more companies are using these forums as a substitute for good support. It just infuriates me when I can't even get a simple question answered by a knowledgable person.

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    Just to add my 3 cents' worth- ZA Internet Security Suite upgrade to version 6 killed my VPN connection to work- no amount of recommended tweaking fixed the problem, so I uninstalled and reverted to version 5.
    And of course now I know why my C drive became so heavily fragmented, despite DK Pro being set to run all day (BTW, I am very happy with DK Pro it has never given me a moment's trouble until ZA 6 was installed).

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    <center>
    <hr>It just infuriates me when I can't even get a simple question answered by a knowledgable person<hr>
    </center>It infuriates me that I can't find a knowlegable person to answer my questions on the company's support site. Only minions with manuals, who copy and paste boiler-plate answers to general questions into email responses to your painfully specific description of your problem. Never really answering your question. <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    Are we talking about ZA or is that a general statement, Doc? As far as I can tell, there IS no support on the ZA site (I don't call that "automated" thingy support of any kind!), and the support on the CheckPoint site is oriented toward enterprise applications of other products, not ZoneAlarm. <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>
    Charlotte

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Diskeeper and ZoneAlarm

    General statement Charlotte. I wasn't talking specifically about any one vendor (although Symantec jumps to the front of my mind right now <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>). I concur with the general feeling that support is an afterthought and we (the users) are supposed to blindly accept the default setting of every product we buy and use it that way, no matter how it performs. I think they look at support as something to do with divorce and want no parts of it. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •