Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    larryb
    Guest

    Win 95 disk 2 error

    Is there a download for disk 2 of the Windows 95 Upgrade? I have a corrupted disk that does not work.

    larryb

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 95 disk 2 error

    If you find one, it would be an illegally created copy, since it is part of the original 95 installation.

    This may be a longshot, but you could try looking on EBay for Windows 95 on floppy....they're pretty scarce these days unless you know an aging geek with a drawer full of junk.
    -Mark

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 95 disk 2 error

    Who are you calling "an aging geek", aging maybe but...!

    Is it really illegal to copy disk 2 of the setup?

    'Cos if it isn't I may be able to help. Does anyone know for sure? (The software is still in use by my company so selling this copy is not an option, sorry.)
    Granville

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Win 95 disk 2 error

    Also remember that there are SEVERAL point versions of Win95. Make sure that you have the same version, if not it may not work.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 95 disk 2 error

    Good "point". Hee! Hee! Hee! Hee!

    Will keep that in mind. Thanks.
    Granville

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Win 95 disk 2 error

    Another thing is if either set is a OEM version I would NOT even think about trying it
    <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>
    <img src=/S/fire.gif border=0 alt=fire width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 95 disk 2 error

    Arrrgh! That's just crueled that idea, as all my Windows software is OEM.
    <img src=/S/headthrob.gif border=0 alt=headthrob width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/igiveup.gif border=0 alt=igiveup width=31 height=23> <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>
    Granville

  9. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 95 disk 2 error

    OK, I have a working Disk 2 of Windows 95a. This is an upgrade (from Windows 3.1x) version. I am comfortable that it would not be inappropriate to copy th disk because:

    1. You presumably have a licensed copy of the OS or would not be asking for just one single disk.
    2. Disk 2 is useless without the 12 other disks in the installation.

    Download? I don't know if that would work unless you can use a "disk image" in the same format as the software that I have available to create it. Send me a private message and we'll figure something out.

  10. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 95 disk 2 error

    I don't think so - just don't share your install keys with him. Those represent your license, the disks are just media.

    Win95 is no longer supported by MS and replacement copies are not available so he doesn't have much choice.

    The big issue is version numbers - i don't think disk 2 will matter if OEM or not as long as the versions are the same. Disk 1 is typically the one with the OEM 'stuff'. (actually, the one lacking certain files removed by OEM to prevent installing elsewhere)

  11. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win 95 disk 2 error

    Thanks, Mary.

    Looks like it may be sorted anyway.

    I'd though this might be the case, but that was purely based of logic: "If I don't supply my licence details what good is the media to the second party".
    Granville

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •