Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Slide Scanning Problem

    I'm pretty sure that no one in The Lounge has a PrimeFilm 35mm Film & Slide Scanner 1800U so I ask this question mainly because it has a familiar ring to it. In <!post=this Bob Leduc thread,505,369>this Bob Leduc thread<!/post> we have been discussing scanning of slides and he and I are on different paths to accomplishing this task. I purchased the above scanner and didn't want to complicate Bob's thread with a slight change of subject. After some startup USB/hardwarre installation glitches, I have my new scanner (sort of) working but not all the way through to Paint Shop Pro yet! I say sort of because the hardware and its driver are working and I get nice "preview" scans in a relatively short time. However when I do the final scan, Paint Shop Pro ends up with a white background, empty image. I thought it might be the 1800 DPI so I tried something lower without luck. I also thought PSP might be struggling with rendering the large image so I took a nice break and came back later with the same empty image on screen.

    The reason I said this has a familiar ring to it it that I seem to remember reading somewhere of a problem like this (empty image) but I don't think it had to do with slide scanning and I'm searching The Lounge without success, so it may not have been here that I'm remembering. Does this sound like something I'm just too inexperienced to know or does anyone have a feel for what I can look at?

    Edited an hour later: I think what I have is a PSP problem. I used the scanner's driver setting to scan DIRECTLY to a file and got the attached scan successfully. I want you to know that this shot was taken with a Kodak Instamatic (el-cheapo) in 1964 and for trivia purposes, you can identify the location. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> So, for a 40 year old slide, I don't expect better quality. I also scanned it directly into PSP and got the aforementioned blank screen. So, I think I know the direction of my quest now, only don't know the answer (yet).
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    Hey Al, pretty decent image fro a 40 year old slide taken with a Kodak cheapo. Is it the Champs Elise from the Eifel Tower ?? Anyway, I did some poking around and couldn't find any direct answers to yur question. But came up with Pacific Image's support site wher you can ask them what's up. This seems to be a pretty new device and there's not alot of info on it yet. But on first blush, it looks like you got yourself awinner. I'll chase down the PSP angle to see if there's anything about your issue.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    Thanks for helping, Doc. Yeah, I found that site and have written twice - first when I had trouble with the driver install and then yesterday about the empty PSP image. One of those topics on that site is where I stumbled on the answer about the USB hub that helped me to make it work!

    My 40 year old memories are fading but I think Billie and I took that picture from up here. Not sure if you've spelled it correctly though - I think it's Champs Elyses. Ahhh, the good ol' days...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    The Elysian Fields are, in French, <big><big>Les Champs-
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    L'Arc de Triomphe at the end of the Champs Elys
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    Are you scanning from within PSP or just using the SW that came with the scanner and then trying to open the scan with PSP?

    I normally open PSP, scan from there using the scanner SW. This has worked the best for me now on 3 different scanners and several versions of PSP.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    Well, I still don't know the answer to the blank image scan in PSP and I don't know if it's a PSP problem or the scanner driver which may not be communicating properly with PSP. Unfortunately I don't have another twain compliant program I can try (I don't think) so I'm going to wait to see what the scanner vendor says first. If they don't know, then I might contact Corel (JASC) tech support. I've tried all kinds of settings changes in the driver's GUI (film type, resolution, etc.)

    Edited: I am now more than ever convinced that there is a Paint Shop Pro problem, maybe with this hardware driver, I don't know. Since I made this post I realized that I have not only Irfanview but Microsoft Photo Editor which are both capable of acquiring a twain image. Both DID SO without a problem and I was able to save the file after it rendered. I think I'll move my own thread to software to see if any experienced PSP users will have a hint as to what the problem might be. Meanwhile, I'm pretty convinced that I do not have a hardware problem and the slide scanner seems to perform quite well. AND thanks again Doc for helping out!

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    Thanks Dave. Yes, I too open PSP and do File - Import, select the twain device and then acquire. I don't get any errors or anything that looks amiss. The preview scan looks fine. When I do the scan is where I get the (apparently) "empty" image window.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    Can you post a screen shot of the scanner interface pane?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    It is Sunday, so a bit of spare time to tinker with the picture.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    Sure, here ya go. This is a preview of another slide that goes back even further than the two others, for any buffs who might be able to identify where I was when I took this (dirty) slide. It's VERY old!

    Edited: Dave, I should have said that this screenshot was taken while inside PSP and in the process of acquiring the twain image.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    What choices are listed in the drop down list where "Normal" is shown?

    What settings are shown in the "Advance" area?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    Don't think it helps, Dave, but thanks for checking. The Advanced button just opens the window a little further and the Normal button shows only normal or quality (whatever that means).
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    Ahhh, another of the great mysteries of computing life - suddenly it's working and PSP has imported several slides without the empty image problem happening! I have no idea why, what happened to "fix" it or what I might have accidently done to kick PSP in the pants! By the time I got finished fooling around testing, saving files and so on last night, I was too dog-tired to make this post...

    Since I changed no settings in the scanner driver or PSP, the only thing I can figure that might have cleared the way is the fact that I used Irfanview and then MS Photo Editor to import a couple of slides. Maybe somewhere in that process, something in the "twain process" got tweaked so that by the time I got back around to PSP it was ready to cooperate. I discovered by accident that it was working when I was making that screenshot for your request, Dave. I thought what the <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> lemme try it again - and it worked. So I did a few more and did another just now, after everything being closed and idle all night.

    By the way, for future readers of this, the slide import did cause Irfanview to give me one of those "...Irfanview needs to close..." error messages, but I was still able to save the file first. When I clicked on the "Don't Send" button, Irfanview closed up shop. I guess maybe the huge size and/or resolution caused the problem - I did two different slides and it repeated both times.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Slide Scanning Problem

    That is good news, now you need the time to do the real work, and get them ALL scanned and cleaned up <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •