Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ODBC Connection (2000)

    First, I'll put this out as a general disclaimer: I have no experience with this. None.

    For the past 8 or 9 months, I've been doing external data pulls from a data source called ODSE (Online Data Systems Enterprise) or something to that effect. I then save the data to a formatted excel document, import into Access and run an update query. It hasn't been until recently that I've found I can link directly to the data source, however, like my first line says, I'm clueless. I don't know exactly how an ODBC connection works, and I definitely don't know how to set one up. I've attached a text file that I found within the program that gives connection information, however it is still nearly Greek to me. Any advice/thoughts would be greatly appreciated. And I will answer any and all questions you have that I can.
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What's more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ODBC Connection (2000)

    How precisely are you "doing data pulls" from this data source?

    The ODBC information is to enable you to create a DNS for the source, but there is so much information there, that I got lost in it too. Perhaps someone else will jump in with suggestions. You can explore a bit by going to the control panel and selecting Administrative Tools-->Data Sources, where you can take a look at the ODBC DSNs already on your machine. This MSDN article will give you some background on ODBC data sources. Another option is to use the provider information in the attachment to connect to the database in VBA code, which doesn't require a permanent link to the database. However, you would have to know which connection string actually points to the type of database you are connecting to, and I missed that information in the file in my admittedly quick scan of it. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: ODBC Connection (2000)

    Your attached document appears to be a general purpose document that is intended to provide the parameters for a number of different ODBC drivers, and there doesn't seem to be any mention of ODSE or Online Data Systems Enterprise. A google on that company name turns up a couple of possibilities, but nothing of substance about ODBC. Follow Charlotte's suggestions and see where that leads.
    Wendell

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: ODBC Connection (2000)

    Further to my Charlotte's reply and mine, if you go to Administrative Tools / Data Sources (ODBC) it should show you what ODBC data sources you have defined. Under the Driver column on either the User DSN or System DSN tab you should see the source you are using. With that information, we can hopefully help you more - I just spent a week in Texas setting up a database that uses ODBC.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ODBC Connection (2000)

    Charlotte, Wendell;

    Thanks for looking in on this. Doing data pulls: ODSE somehow refers to the connection to the tables that run the Marine Corps' personnel information tables. The catalog name is ODSE.cat. It is all opened through Cognos Impromptu though. Once I specify the records I wish to obtain information from (by selecting the PK (in this case SSN) in a picklist), the query is ran, and I save the query results to excel, and run my above-posted procedure... I'm reading the article you referred me to right now, hopefully it will provide some insight. Looking at the file again, I don't think it provides any helpful connection information <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>. I'll continue to research, and let you know anything I find out. Thanks again <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ODBC Connection (2000)

    Well, I've hit a stopping point for a day or two....turns out that in order to create an ODBC connection to ODSE, I must first install Oracle 9i. Luckily I know an office that installs programs as such, and thanks to military licensing, cost isn't an option! <img src=/S/joy.gif border=0 alt=joy width=23 height=23>

    Anyone here have experience with Oracle? I have installed it once, however my computer crashed after I installed it....so after the install process, I'm clueless.
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: ODBC Connection (2000)

    Jeremy,
    Installing Oracle shouldn't be a problem - you should only need the client tools rather than the full database to allow a connection to be set up (what was SQL*Net,then Net8 - don't know what it is in version 9, though I guess Net9 is a possibility!) There was an issue with Net8 and Pentium 4s in the install, but I imagine they will have sorted that by now.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •