Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    I maintain several shared databases. Recently all these databases are getting "You do not have exclusive access to the database at this time...." when opened by more than one user. I'm stumped. I've checked everything I can possibly think of and also consulted many lounge threads. Everything seems to be in order. This is happening to ALL of the databases on the system.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    Have the users' permissions for the folder containing the databases changed recently? Everone needs to have Modify permissions (read/write/create/delete).

    Has the default open mode for databases been changed to Exclusive instead of Shared (in the Advanced tab of Tools | Options...)? This could have been changed globally through a system policy.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    Thanks Hans,

    This has all been checked. Nothing has changed in the databases themselves. And file permission are correct.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    You might have to do some testing, as it is possible that 1 user is messing it up for everyone else. Start with everyone out, let Person A open the db and stay in it while each of the other users attempts to get in and out of the db. Then start all over again, starting with Person B, etc.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    I get that message with my databases but it is only when I try to do something in design mode. If someone is in the database and I try to do something to the design of a form for instance, I get that message.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    That is normal behavior in Access 2000 and higher. You can only modify the design of forms etc. if you have opened the database exclusively, i.e. you are the only user.
    In Access 97, one user could be entering data in a form while another user was modifying the design of the form. This could lead to confusion at the best, and database corruption at the worst, so Microsoft made this impossible in Access 2000.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    No one (other than myself) can access the databases in design mode. I usually let the users know if I'm working on their database so they will not login. I've never had this particular problem before.

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    As Hans pointed out, this is normal behavior for Access2000 and up.

    The best way to handle this is to not do design work in your production database! First of all, you should have a frontend and a backend database. Each user should have a local copy of the frontend. You should separately have another version of the frontend designated as the Deveopment version (you could even link it do a test Backend, so as not to mess-up your real data). Do your changes in this development version, and when you are done and everything is OK, relink the development database to the real data and post this version for everyone to download.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    I don't know why ALL of my databases are doing this. Recently, one user was logged in and shut down his computer and went home. It seems that this is around the time that the problem began. I've done some user testing and also opened more than one instance on my workstation. I got the same message. <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    That's what I do!!!!!

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    Hans,

    I'm the only person who can edit these databases in design mode. I have not made any changes in quite some time. The only thing I can think of is that I compacted two (2) of the databases last week. But that would not explain what is happening to the others.

    We recently pushed some Office patches to all our workstations, but my network person insists that Access was not effected.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    It's puzzling that it happens in all databases and to all users. It indicates that something must have happened at the network level or at the application level, not something in the individual databases. But you seem to have ruled out the likely causes already, so I'm stumped.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    Figured it out. The shortcuts on the users desktops were corrupt. We reinstalled Access and recreated their shortcuts. Thanks for all your suggestions!

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Exclusive Access (A2K/SR1)

    Weird! But glad you found it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •