Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New Lounger
    Thanks

Creating Charts in a mail merge (Word 2002)

I am doing a mail merge with around 160 letters. The issue is that each of these letters needs to have a graph on it and the graph needs to be populated with data I have in excel 2002. I am wondering if there is any way to avoid making all of the charts manually, possibly as part of the mail merge. One option I have considered is having the mail merge populate a word table with the data and then somehow linking the graph to the table, I'm not sure how to do that or if it is possible. I have also considered trying to link the graph directly to excel but I don't know if that is possible either. I appreciate any help on this that I can get. Thanks.

Thanks

Re: Creating Charts in a mail merge (Word 2002)

The charts are each different? Because I'm not very experienced linking Word documents to Excel, I'm not sure how you could cook up a link to a nonexistent chart to be drawn from a particular range. Maybe there's a secret way to do that. If not, maybe you could use a macro in Excel to draw and save the charts to disk or into named ranges so that they could be individually referenced and linked during your merge.

New Lounger
    Thanks

That is right, all the charts are different. I am dealing with account balances going back six months for about 160 clients. That means 160 letters in the mail merge. Each one will have a chart to show the history of their balances.

I think I can make a macro to create the charts in excel, but then I wouldn't know how to save "the charts to disk or into named ranges so that they could be individually referenced and linked during" the merge. How would this be done?

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

See Mail Merge FAQ, especially the "Mail merge to a chart" section. You can download a zip file that demonstrates how to automate a chart in a mail merge.

New Lounger
    Thanks