Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Not showing field updates when revision marking (2003)

    Dear Loungers,

    Does anyone know how to not show field updates in revision marking?
    If you have Update Fields checked then on print items such as page numbers, section titles and dates get updated. Perfect.
    But I don't want to see these as part of my revision marking since they have been used exactly so that they will show the latest information. I realise that some people, or on some occasions, this is useful but usually not.
    So, any ideas?

    thank you.......... liz

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Not showing field updates when revision marking (2003)

    The easy way to get rid of the revision tracked field updates is to turn off revision tracking (temporarily), select all (Ctrl-A) and update the fields (F9). This can be done at any time and won't affect the non-field revisions.

    You can then turn revision tracking back on again if you wish.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Not showing field updates when revision marking (2003)

    Andrew,
    yes I do this , it's just it's a pain and for my reviewers, who are not very word literate' it just isn't worth explaining because they will forget to turn it back on. I hoped there was another way.
    thank you................liz

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Not showing field updates when revision markin

    If it is too much of a drama perhaps you could automate it by creating a macro.

    Another alternative is to lock the fields so that they don't update themselves without specific action by the user.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Not showing field updates when revision markin

    Andrew,
    when you say "lock" what do you mean? is it something other than Tools,Options, Print, Update Fields?

    liz

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Not showing field updates when revision markin

    If you select one or more fields and press Ctrl+F11, the fields will be locked, i.e. they won't be updated any more.

    To unlock fields and allow them to be updated again, select them and press Ctrl+Shift+F11.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Not showing field updates when revision markin

    Thank you, all the years I've used Word I didn't discover it, probably because I didn't need it. I know about the lock results switch, but this seems to be something different, is there a way of easily telling the fields are locked?

    liz

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Not showing field updates when revision markin

    As far as I know, there is no built-in way to tell if a field is locked. You can find out as follows:
    - Select a field.
    - Switch to the Visual Basic Editor (Alt+F11).
    - Activate the Immediate window (Ctrl+G)
    - Type ? Selection.Fields(1).Locked and press Enter.
    You'll see True or False, depending on whether the field has been locked using Ctrl+F11.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Not showing field updates when revision markin

    A less-intense way to check is to:
    1. Put your cursor in the field you want to check
    2. Press Shift-F9 to reveal the field codes
    3. Press F9 to update the field

    If the field automatically goes back to showing the field result then it is unlocked. A locked field will continue to show you the field code (press Shift-F9 to show the result again). Interestingly, this method doesn't work if you have selected multiple fields.

    Now I go investigating - an even simpler method is to right click the field and see if the update field option is available or greyed out. <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Not showing field updates when revision markin

    Much easier, thanks!

    <img src=/S/whisper.gif border=0 alt=whisper width=29 height=17> But why do things the easy way when there are complicated methods? <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Not showing field updates when revision markin

    Hi Andrew:
    Actually, I think you can take out one step. After your cursor is in a field, right click. If "update fields" is greyed out, then the field is locked; if it isn't greyed out, the field is unlocked. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Not showing field updates when revision markin

    Isn't that what the last sentence in Andrew's post says?
    <hr>Now I go investigating - an even simpler method is to right click the field and see if the update field option is available or greyed out<hr>

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Not showing field updates when revision markin

    Didn't see that. I was still drinking my coffee. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •