Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    HW Dual Booting A PC

    I am sure I used to be able to hardware dual boot my PC but I don't seem able to any more.

    By hardware dual boot I mean I have a removable drive caddy in which I have a 40Gb ATA drive set as master, fixed in my system I have a 160GB drive set as slave. In principle (and this used to work I thought) when I unlock my removable (essentially cutting its power), for the cost of a slight delay, the system will boot off the slave ... that definitely works. When I relock the drive (restoring power) the system will power up and boot off the master ... that works too but there's a problem.

    My problem seems to reside in the BIOS (which is why I wonder if some kind of standard Award BIOS

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HW Dual Booting A PC

    I have a similar setup at home, but slightly different to yours. I have a hdd fixed into the case set as Master drive on IDE channel 0. As well as that I have a removable caddy in which I can just slot in various drives. These drives are also set as Master drives, but are on channel 1. In the BIOS, my boot order is HDD1, then HDD0. If there is no drive in the removable bay, the internal drive will boot. If a bootbale drive is inserted in the removable bay, then that one will boot. If, however, I place a non-bootable drive in the removable bay (eg for backups), then the system will boot from the internal drive as normal.

    The important thing is to have the two drives on separate IDE channels.

    HTH
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HW Dual Booting A PC

    Hi Lyra,

    OK (said uncertainly) ... given that I also have an IDE DVD writer what channel would you put that on? I ask because I understand that putting a CD (OK a big CD) drive on the same channel as a hard disc can slow the latter down.

    Thanks for replying :-)

    EDIT: I have tried that solution and (on this board at least, a Gigabyte 8KNXP rev 1.0) it doesn't work (there doesn't appear to be any way of setting and fixing HDD order apart from the boot order list which changes depending upon what it detects) :-( ... any other ideas?

    Vamp

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HW Dual Booting A PC

    Hey Vamp <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29>

    I have my DVD-RW on channel 1, set as slave. As long as the removable caddy is empty, then there's no performance hit. The only time you WILL get performance issues is if you have 2 devices on the same channel. The master device will always take priority over the slave. In my case, having the removable drive is more important than having full performance on the DVDRW all the time. Most time I use it, I make sure that the removable caddy is empty anyway, so it's not really an issue.

    As to why your setup won't work, I really don't know. If your BIOS boot order list changes depending on which devices are plugged in, then I can see that would certainly cause problems.

    The only other thing I can think of is using your removable caddy is the only bootable device, and just swap boot HDDs as and when. If you wanted another HDD for backups etc, use an internal non-bootable drive.
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HW Dual Booting A PC

    OK ... Thanks Lyra :-)

    Personal Question: Robin Hood country? UK or Nottinghamshire? I only ask because I spent around 10 years in Notts (I still support Nottingham Forest even though they aren't doing so well).

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HW Dual Booting A PC

    Nottinghamshire. Just north of Nottingham itself actually. Whereabouts did you spend time in our green & pleasant county? (if you don't mind me asking of course!)
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HW Dual Booting A PC

    Hi Lyra,

    I lived for about 10 years (maybe 11) right through the cool (and unfortunately late) Clough, Nottingham Forest years. I lived in a village called Ruddington ... I think that was about 5 miles Southish of Nottingham. I went to school at Corpus Christi in Wilford (IIRC) and left Nottingham in 1979 to go to Polytechnic and have never really returned apart from a couple of brief visits.

    I subscribe to the general idea that the Midlands and North are warmer (in terms of people) than here in the South ... I now live in a town near Canterbury in Kent.

    Sorry I haven't replied, been a bit wrapped up in what feels like a whole bathroom reconstruction!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •