Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unable to change desktop icon size.

    I recently rebooted my computer only to find that the desktop icons had changed to large. I have selected the small icon checkbox in the customize start menu but to no avail. I have run SpyBot S&D, Adaware and a virus scan just in case but these report no problems. Has anybody seen this problem before?
    TIA.
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Unable to change desktop icon size.

    Open the Display Properties control panel (for example by right-clicking an empty part of the desktop and selecting Properties from the popup menu)
    Activate the Appearance tab.
    If you're using Windows XP, click Advanced.
    Select Icon from the Item dropdown list.
    Set the size (32 is default)

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to change desktop icon size.

    Thanks for that, Hans. However, the start menu icons are too large and I am warned that I need to select small start menu icons. I've done that but it doesn't work. Changing the settings in taskbar and start menu seems to have no effect.
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Unable to change desktop icon size.

    Which version of Windows are you using?

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to change desktop icon size.

    XP Pro SP2.
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Unable to change desktop icon size.

    OK, moved to the XP forum.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Unable to change desktop icon size.

    This is a bit simplistic, but, have you checked your screen resolution ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to change desktop icon size.

    Hi Doc,

    Yes, that was the problem. For some reason a lot of the settings had changed spontaneously, including the DPI. After a bit of adjustment, things now appear OK.

    Many thanks.
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Unable to change desktop icon size.

    Computers !!! <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Glad I could help. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Unable to change desktop icon size.

    Glad you got it fixed. Many times if you update a display driver the new version will go to a terrible screen resolution. Also, going into safe mode will sometimes mess with things.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •