Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    Hello -

    I installed a program to CD (D drive). When I go to look at the files, it gives me the .exe file so when I click on it, it wants to install it over again.

    How do I get to the files within the program?

    Thank you very much.

    Acer

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    you can use the windows explorer to find it. the easiest way to do this is open my computer, and right click on your D: drive and go to "Explore" - not open. this will let you view the contents of the CD drive.
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>
    <big>John</big>

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    Could you explain what you mean by "installed a program to CD" ?? Did you execute the .exe file on you system and and then []iinstall[/i] the program to your D drive with a writeable CD in it ?? Or did you copy the contents of a program CD to another CD ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    Afternoon, John and Doc -

    John, I can see the contents fine. What I can

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    I'm afraid that unless you have some way to run this on another PC with your system networked to it or your existing hard drive installed as a slave to a working Windows system with this program installed on that system you will not be able to use this program to recover your lost files.

    From the users manual on their website ...
    "To be able to use PC INSPECTOR
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    Doc - Yes, I had gone to the site's FAQ and they did say a D drive was okay.... Given this, do you think I can open the .exe on the Desktop then copy the files to the CD?

    Thanks again

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    Did you tell them that the D drive was a CD and not another hard drive ??? I'm not certain, but I don't believe there is any way to install a program to a CD. I'll try it on my machine and let you know what happens.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    No way I can see to install a program to a CD. I tried with three different programs and none would allow the change in the installation path to be to the CD drive. Maybe if you format the CD first and then try to install to it, but I seriously doubt it.

    I'm not sure you understand the nature of an executable file. You really can't "open" it. You have to execute it and when that happens it initilizes an action that will install the program or execute an action that has been programmed. You can install a program to another hard drive on the same machine or partition on the same hard drive, but in this case the manufacturer says that it must be installed on a different physical drive and be run by a Windows system. That means an external hard drive connected via USB or another drive slaved to your master insid the box. HTH <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    Thanks again for your time!

    I should have said, perhaps, "Run" rather than "Open" -- I do understand about the executable file. I WAS able to indicate the installation path to the CD drive, and I think that's my problem, as first explained.

    Is not a CD a physical drive? Is it that it's not run by a Windows system? Again, as mentioned before, the FAQ did state one could use a D drive...

    Well, anyway, those questions/answers are for my curiosity. I believe I will go back to being very diligent and saving doc files to A:

    Your comments are welcomed,

    Acer

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    Ok, I went to the website and checked the FAQ. This came from there.

    Question: I do not have a second drive. Can I save the files on a ZIP or network drive?
    Answer: You can save the files on any <font color=red>logical drive</font color=red>. (I added the red hightligh)

    A CD is not a logical drive, but another partition on the same hard drive is a logical drive. So you could get a partitioning utility like Partition Magic and create another partition on your hard drive and then install the program to that partition and then run it and save any recovered file to that partition or to the primary C partition. Note that if you do add another partition to that drive it will most likely be assigned the drive letter E as the D drive is your CD drive. This isn't really that important, but I thought you should be aware of it in advance. HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    I am so sorry you had to do all that work -- going to the site.

    Thank you for the very clear definition of a logical drive. At least, at your expense, I learned something!

    Many thanks.

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    Glad I could help. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> But don't be sorry. That's what we do here. Volunteer our time to help others understand and fix their PC problems. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    IMHO it's their site that caused the confusion. Perhaps it had to do with the translation from German to English (it appears to be the product of a German company). If they had simply said "logical drive" to start with there wouldn't have been any question.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Installing to CD (Home/Sp2)

    Thank you, Gentleman Doc!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •