Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Ad-Aware Won't Finish

    I've been running SE Plus, Build 1.06r1, for some time, and suddenly it won't finish a scan. I usually run it set for Custom level, but this morning I tried the "lowest" setting (Fast? or Quick? or something) and the same thing happened. The scan starts, but at some point the status says Busy, and the files scanned count stops. Yesterday I started a scan at 8:00 am, and when I got home at 8:30 pm the scan was stopped with the Busy message. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware Won't Finish

    i had the same problem and never found out why. i ended up downloading the newest version and re-installing it. but since you are paying for the product (i think you have to pay for the Plus version anyway), i would advise you to try and contact someone from lavasoft.
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>
    <big>John</big>

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ad-Aware Won't Finish

    Do you know on which file(s) the "hang" takes place? The last update was on 24th August.
    Have you looked at the most recent logs in Cocuments and Settings<your userid>Application DataLavasoftAd-AwareLogs for anything unusual?

    Have you tried running Spybot Search and Destroy, to see if a similar problem occurs?

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ad-Aware Won't Finish

    John,

    >> i would advise you to try and contact someone from lavasoft <<

    When I tried to do that this morning, I found out Lavasoft requires you to register at their site first, so I have to wait until I hear back from them before I can ask any questions [img]/forums/images/smilies/sad.gif[/img]

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ad-Aware Won't Finish

    John Gray,

    >> Do you know on which file(s) the "hang" takes place? The last update was on 24th August. <<

    Nope, Ad-Aware is just showing a file count, not any file names in the Status window.

    >> Have you looked at the most recent logs in Cocuments and Settings<your userid>Application DataLavasoftAd-AwareLogs for anything unusual? <<

    The only thing unusual is that the last log there is dated July 10th! Must have been the last successful scan date.

    >> Have you tried running Spybot Search and Destroy, to see if a similar problem occurs? <<

    Spybot runs a complete scan and doesn't find anything.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ad-Aware Won't Finish

    Hmmm. All rather depressing. Have you "done anything" to the computer since 10 July that you could blame the Ad-Aware problem on, perhaps?!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-Aware Won't Finish

    Just something you might want to try... I see that AdAware will run in Safe Mode in 98SE. If your O/S also supports this, it might be worth a shot, just in case there's an "unknown" process hanging onto a file, thus causing AA to hang.

    Alan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •