Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    When I back up my system with TrueImage, and it (logically) includes more than one (2-4) "parts" to the archive.

    So when I go to verify the image, do I need to verify each piece, or is that automatic if I start with the first segment>

    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    What do the help files say about verification?

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    Leif:

    10.1 Checking images
    To be assured that your images are not damaged, you can check their integrity. To do this, select Check Image in the Tools group (expand it if it's not) or click Check Image on the toolbar. You will see the first wizard window. Click Next to continue.
    10.1.1 Selecting image for checking
    In this window, you will see the complete list of connected storage devices, including hard disks and other drives. Using Windows Explorer, locate the image file to be checked and select it.
    Its name will appear in the File Name field and the Next button will be enabled.
    Click Proceed to continue. Progress will be indicated in the new window.
    You can cancel checking by clicking Cancel.
    After checking is complete, you will see the results window.

    As all parts of an image show up in the window, it leaves the issue vague...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    So, what happens if you select and verify the first 'part' - does it ask for, or automatically select, the next one when it is complete?

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    Leif:

    As I am currently in the process of a re-configure/re-install, I was pretty anxious that all gets backed up properly. So I checked each part of the backup, which TI did, with no message or error (aside from the statement that the image passed the check).

    I suppose this means that each part has to be verified... What a PITA that is...


    Oh well...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    Seems a little self-defeating that you feel that way, Chuck. Whether you backup one PARTITION (not 'parts') or several, a TrueImage backup is a FILE. So, if you choose to verify the image (file) that's what TI will do. If you only want to check the authenticity of one partition, then you should backup only one partition at a time, each to its own FILE. (By the way, if the destination for the backup is a FAT32 partition, TI will automatically break the file up into 4 gig pieces, a limitation of FAT32 not TI.)

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    Chuck,

    You mentioned "parts" to your backup image. It is important to know to what media you put your backup on, e.g., CD/CD-RW, DVD or some other HDD? If the later, why would you have "parts"?? If the former, then I (we) can easily tell you how an image is verified. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    Al:

    >>
    Whether you backup one PARTITION (not 'parts')
    <<

    They ARE *parts*. If I'm backing up my "C" partition, TI does so and puts it in up to 4 *parts* or pieces, not just one complete file.

    THAT is the issue. Do I need to verify EACH of those PARTS (>>up into 4 gig pieces<<)? 'Cause this happens when I'm backing up to a CD or DVD as well, where I'm not "asked" what type of format I'm using.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow


    So, if you choose to verify the image (file) that's what TI will do. If you only want to check the authenticity of one partition, then you should backup only one partition at a time, each to its own FILE. (By the way, if the destination for the backup is a FAT32 partition, TI will automatically break the file up into 4 gig pieces, a limitation of FAT32 not TI.)
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    Jeff:

    As noted to Al, I get "pieces" or "parts" regardless of where I'm backing up to -- HD, DVD, CD -- it doesn't matter.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    Okay.... then I have to conclude one of two things: 1) You have chosen to save your backup image by specifying a maximum or specified size during the backup process which would then create multiple files, or 2) There is something wrong going on. Why? Because the default configuration setup for creating backup images to a HDD is for one file only. When you backup to CD/CD-RW disks, True Image will automatically ejects the disk when full and prompts you to label it and then insert the next disk, which is repeated until the the entire image has been created.

    Can you check on these things and let us know if either apply?

    EDIT: I just read your last reply to Doc and can I assume that the drive you are backing up and/or to is a FAT32 drive and not a NTFS? That would explain things. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    Jeff:

    When I'm backing up to a HD, since it IS a FAT32 drive, it will of course need to define segments since there is a max size, right?

    I just walked through the initial process again to verify the process, and one of the last steps is to select "Automatic" sizing, o to define a specific size... I always leave that on "Auto". So, if I'm backing up to, say, another HD, TI will create several "pieces" to eliminate size problems with FAT32.

    And THERE"S where my question lies:

    When I go back to this backup, it may in fact be in 3, 4, or more "pieces". But TI doesn't say "No, check Part One, and then we'll check all of them." TI just lets me select an image file and tells me "This one's OK."

    So what about the other parts?

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    Chuck,

    Thanks for the clarification. Now the "bad news".... I can't advise you since I don't have nor used a FAT32 file system in years. Those days are long gone for me. Evidently, what applies to images created to CD/CD-RW media doesn't apply to your situation. When I was using CD-RW disks as my backup media and went through the verification process, it would always ask me to insert a specific disk and then another and back to the first, etc.... until ALL the files where checked and then I would get the results. In other words, ALL the files had to be checked before TI would give me the wanted OK, unless it found an error on one of the disks.

    If you have not been able to find an answer to your question and/or no one here is able to offer accurate information, I would suggest you either write to Acronis support and/or post your question(s) over on the Acronis Support Forums. I've received timely and excellent answers to my own questions there in the past, especially since an Acronis technician actively participates.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    OK gang, we're all circling around the same wagon here it seems.
    <hr>But TI doesn't say "No, check Part One, and then we'll check all of them." TI just lets me select an image file and tells me "This one's OK."
    <hr>
    TI is restricted by the FAT32 limit of file size, BUT as far as TI is concerned, your backup IS one file of whatever name you choose for the file when you do the backup. I use a file named "all_drives" when I backup because I backup all my partitions at one time. When that backup completes, I have about four separate files called "all_drives1.tib" and so on, through "all_drives4.tib." Still, as far as TI is concerned, my backup file is "all_drives" and when I verify, I am selecting "all_drives" and TI will proceed to check all the required pieces of that file. Clear as mud? It's an integral file to TI, but required by the file system to be saved in smaller chunks. I guess you need to live with it or use NTFS.

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    Jeff:

    And I am simultaneously on the hunt and more confused.

    I've posted to the Acronis board as well, so I'll be back if I hear more....

    BTW, You've given me good idea though, because since NTFS doesn't have the size limitations, I could probably eliminate this issue by backing up to an NTFS partition instead of to a FAT32 one...

    Although my XP installation is NTFS, I suppose I'm still clinging to the delusion that I gain some type of security by keeping the backups on FAT32. I always figure that that way, if I have a problem and cannot access my Win install, at least I can get to my backup files directly from DOS....

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: TrueImage Backups (XP-Pro SP-2)

    Al:

    I perfectly understand what you are saying, and it makes perfect sense....

    BUT

    When you do an Image check, doesn't TI give you All_Drives1.tib, All_Drives2.tib, All_Drives3.tib and All_Drives4.tib to choose from to be verified? Mine does.

    So then do you just pick the first one, and the others are included automatically, or do you do each one?

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •