Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 2003)

    <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15>
    See the attached form, which is in Word.

    I want to reduce the number of lines in a form document, by not displaying some lines if the answer to a question is blank or no. If the answer is yes, I want to see the other lines.

    I kind of sure I should be using the Drop Down Form Field, but I can't figure out how to do it.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Bob Wall

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 2003)

    Bob

    Will this be a full blown questionairre with lots of questions and if so how many will be in this format?
    Jerry

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 2003)

    You could also use a check box from the Forms toolbar.

    See attached version; you must enable macros to see it work.
    There is a bookmark around the text to be hidden, and there is an On Exit macro for the Dropdown6 dropdown field.
    The Document_Open event procedure makes sure that hidden text is not displayed.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 2003)

    See the attached document. Basically the answer is that they want the Yes or No Drop Down Form Field.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Bob Wall

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 2003)

    Thanks for getting back. The reason I ask is I am aware that some questionairres can be very lengthy and was holding back from my response. Hans has posted a satisfactory answer along the same lines as my idea but I was concerned that there could be a lot of coding behind it for each specific question, hence my original question to you. My <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15> worth
    Jerry

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Zoetermeer, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 2003)

    As always, Hans gave you an elegant and easy solution, which I too use a lot. But if the text to hide/show is lengthy, you can get a sizeable gap between the two lines with the dropdown in Hans' example. And in our company, the users didn't like that. In those cases an alternative would be to use AutoText, to insert the text if Yes, and delete that text if No is chosen.
    At the moment I'm not at my own work-PC and I cannot upload anything. But If you like, I can post an example later.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 2003)

    <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>
    What I
    Bob Wall

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 2003)

    You can eliminate the gap by including the paragraph end after the "optional" text in the bookmark. See slightly modified version.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 20

    Are you allowed to create a UserForm with the Yes/No checkboxes and then generate the form from that input? Obviously that requires the user to allow macros to run, but I suspect most solutions you consider will require that.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 20

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>

    I
    Bob Wall

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 20

    I can't think of any way to show or hide the extra text depending on the choice in the Yes/No dropdown list without using macro code.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 20

    The attached file shows a method of showing or hiding a supplementary section based on the result of a dropdown field. This is done without macros but could be made slicker if macros were used. The issue I see in this example is that leaving the first field puts you in the following question irrespective of whether the supplementary field is showing or not - this then requires the user to click back to get into that field.

    One problem you probably can't get around is the result of changing the selection doesn't show until the user leaves the field. A macro should deal with the other problems though.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 20

    Since Bob very much wants to avoid using macros, this is probably a good solution for him.

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 20

    Hi Andrew:
    I took a look at your example, but cannot see what I'm typing in the supplemental answer. As far as I could tell, you had to click in front of the invisible bookmark (Text1), type, & then go back to the dd1 FormField & tab out of it. Probably more disconcerting for users than a macro warning. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> I never tried this before & found it interesting that I could even enter text in a formfield that was contained in an IF field.

    In fact, I found I couldn't click on the Text1 bookmark (if I tried, the cursor went to the Text2 bookmark). I had to use the GoTo Bookmark function to get the cursor in the correct place. Is there another way?

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Using Forms toolbar - Creating a form (Word 20

    Phil, I just put it together on a hunch and it kinda sorta works. If you click with the mouse you can type into that position in the field although you don't get the whole thing selected on entry like you would normally expect. Perhaps this behaviour varies with the version of Word too - I'm on a Word 2000 machine today.

    I haven't played with it extensively so I can't tell you the best way to work with it - I was just presenting it as a potential non-macro solution. It does appear to lack the usability niceties I would have wanted but perhaps the principle is able to be reworked into a slicker user experience. I would still be more tempted to go with a macro solution but the provided sample might be all the user requires.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •