Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 54
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Acronis True Image 9.0 Niggles

    I thought I'd start a new thread about using True Image 9.0. The ability to backup folders and files looks useful. I like the option to do this when shutting the computer down which I do at the end of the day. However, I've noticed a couple of problems:

    1. Double-click on a tib file and The dialogue box pops up but the cursor becomes an hourglass. I noticed another on the taskbar, "Processing Please Wait" - this doesn't seem to finish. It seems necessary to Start True Image first and navigate to the file to be restored in True Image. This seems true of both whole partitions and folder/file ones.

    2. I tried to plug a tib file that was folders and files rather than an image of a partition. I selected the file in the Tree and chose next. Nothing Happened. If mounting a file containing folders and files is not possible then I think an error message should appear but this didn't happen.

    Can anyone else confirm these niggles? Any more niggles to report?

    Thanks,

    Chris (Hunt)

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Niggles

    <hr>Chris opined:
    1. Double-click on a tib file and The dialogue box pops up but the cursor becomes an hourglass. I noticed another on the taskbar, "Processing Please Wait" - this doesn't seem to finish. It seems necessary to Start True Image first and navigate to the file to be restored in True Image. This seems true of both whole partitions and folder/file ones.<hr>
    I can't comment on #2 since I haven't tried that yet. But, as for #1, you can't open a .tib file in the regular manner, e.g., double-clicking on it since it is integrated exclusively with the True Image application. .tib files can only be opened through the TI interface and that's a good thing, otherwise there would be the potential of corrupting the file and thus you would lose the ability to use it to backup your system if needed. Also, the system has to be "locked" before you can restore a backup image since it contains everything, e.g., Registry, system files, applications, etc.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Niggles

    Hi Jeff,

    In my experience of using True Image 8 there was no problem double-clicking on a tib file - a dialogue box appears offering to mount the drives. This was useful. I have mounted an image of my C Drive in this way and looked for files. One can also create an image of an external drive and then mount it. This is great for data. With True Image 9 there appears to be a bug and it hangs. I'm waiting to hear back from Acronis support. According to this answer given by Acronis in a Wilders Security Forum it is not possible to mount images containing just files and folders. Apparently a message box to this effect will be added in a future update.

    My opinion of True Image 9 at the moment is that it is still a beta. I was attempting to install the demo version of Dreamweaver 8 last night and True Image sprang to life. I guess it was trying to make a backup. I had not set it to do this so some default setting was perhaps operating. It crashed my entire system. Fortunately I had set a Windows Restore Point. I'm back with version 8 at the moment.

    Chris

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Niggles

    Well, I'm going to add a post here rather than in the thread which is mostly about buying TI 9 because I'm beginning to have a few doubts as has Chris. Before I start I should get this out of the way. When I installed TI 9 I did NOT uninstall Version 8 because of what had been said about the serial number business. I installed TI 9 into its own, new directory. However, I just noticed in my menu and Control Panel structure that evidently the installation of TI 9 did in fact uninstall Version 8 without telling me that it was doing so. That kinda makes me mad for now, if I'm unhappy with Version 9, I will have to re-install Version 8. That was pretty crappy of them, in my opinion. If the two versions can't co-exist, they should have told me that they were going to uninstall the old one.

    Folks, I can't (so far) get the backup of SELECTED FILES and folders to work! Bummer. I started TI 9, selected backup and proceeded through the menus for SELECTED files, all the way to the end. I expected to be asked if I wanted to SAVE this configuration, but I was not. Perhaps I should have chosen "Schedule A Task" from the Operations Menu, but I used the GUI Backup selection, thinking I would be asked about saving and scheduling, which I was NOT asked. After selecting a bunch of files and/or directories on three drives, I started the test backup. I was told it would take only 8-10 minutes, at "normal" compression, which is what I expected. The backup started and the GUI progress bar proceeded to the point where it said there was less than 2 minutes remaining and then all activity seemed to stop. After waiting for quite some time, I opened Task Manager which said "running" for Acronis TI but there was NO hard drive activity. After waiting for what seemed like an eternity, I closed TI with no objection that there was a running task. As a matter of fact, the status window at the bottom of the screen even said that the operation had completed.

    The next obvious thing I tried was to see what the Restore process would say and as I expected, it said that the file was "...not a TI file..." or was corrupt. I guess I'll try again, but I solicit additional comments about my (maybe) ignorant use of this "new" feechur...

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Niggles

    Al,
    ----------------------
    When I installed TI 9 I did NOT uninstall Version 8
    ----------------------
    I'm only just getting into your post to decipher it. I also installed ver 9 without uninstalling ver 8. So far, ( knock wood ) I haven't had any problems that I can see, although I don't do incremental back ups as you do.
    But when you install a newer version of TI like that, it WILL look for another version at whatever location and install the new one OVER the old unless you tell it NOT to do that. That seems like SOP for most upgrades.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Niggles

    I installed TI 9 in the default directory which I think was directly on TI 8. I did what Al did and made a backup of some files - but I only chose one folder and subfolder on the C drive. I didn't choose folders across multiple drives. The backup worked. I deleted a test file and was able to restore a single file from backup. But I found I had to setup the backup again using a schedule - it seems is always best to set up a schedule which can include "run once". I liked the fact I could schedule a backup every time I switch the computer off.

    I may have another go with TI 9, if I do I think I will remove TI 8 completely. I'm still waiting to hear back from support on not being able to launch TI by double-clicking on a tib file. The trouble is I trust TI 8 but after reading the problems mentioned at the Official Support forum at Wilders I'm nervous about the reliability of TI 9.

    If I make a tib of my system using TI 8 before reinstalling TI 9 and don't touch it with TI 9 at all I guess I can use my TI 8 boot CD to restore it. Does that sound like a reasonable safety precaution?

    Chris

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Niggles

    No, you didn't understand my Long Island'ese. My TI 8 was installed, working and trouble free. I installed TI 9 in a NEW directory, NOT on top of TI 8 - I wanted to keep both of 'em. Sorry Bob but that is the usual procedure. Many of us just did it with PSP. I only just today noticed that my TI 8 directory is empty and the Add/Remove app only has TI 9 installed - there's not a TI 8 in sight anywhere.

    I don't do incremental backups.

    I can't get the file backup to work.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Niggles

    Well Al, most times us Jerseyites ( Jerseyans as they now seem to be called ) could never understand what those Longuylanders were saying anyway.
    Sorry about that!

    At least I got your name right. <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/grovel.gif border=0 alt=grovel width=31 height=23> <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Niggles

    Cah,
    Sounds reasonable to me.
    BTW, I just now clicked on a tib file made with Ver 8 and it came up OK in the Ver 9 that I now have installed.
    Also tried clicking on a ver 9 tib and it started OK.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Lewiston, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Update

    Acronis has an update available - build 2259 and is available at the Acronis Site.
    Note that you will need to register your 9.0 version before you can download the update. Specifics are:
    Changes:
    Acronis Secure Zone creation fixed.
    File and folder restoring fixed.
    Better hardware support.
    GUI fixes.

    Which may fix some of the problems some of you may have had... <img src=/S/question.gif border=0 alt=question width=15 height=15>

    Bob

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Update

    Thanks Bobs! Acronis support asked me some questions that entailed reinstalling version 9 (build 2247). Since I had the old registration number available I decided on doing a clean install. I found that the build I have now does support clicking directly on a tib. The cursor turns to an hourglass indicating True Image is working but if one clicks on next it continues - previously nothing happened. I tried downloading the latest build but currently the download speed is slower than a geriatric slug. Will try again later.

    Given that Acronis seem to be responding seriously and quickly to the flaws some people have reported my trust is somewhat restored. I'm still going to keep an untouched system backup of 8 lying around.

    Incidentally, many people have reported difficulty in making a bootup CD. Apparently if you close the CD Drive before doing the burn it will fail. The trick is to open the CD drive, put in the blank disk and then click on the screen and get Acronis to close the drive and do the burn. I wonder if this problem has been fixed by the latest update.

    Chris

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Lewiston, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Update

    >>Apparently if you close the CD Drive before doing the burn it will fail. The trick is to open the CD drive, put in
    >>the blank disk and then click on the screen and get Acronis to close the drive and do the burn. I wonder if
    <<this problem has been fixed by the latest update.

    Hi Chris,
    I have had no problems in creating a new boot CD with 9.0 - and I normally do set a blank CD in the drive, close it via the drive, then open up True Image and create.

    Bob (the other one).

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Update

    I just thought I'd point out to our readers here that a tour in the Acronis forums leads me to believe that extreme caution is still in order regarding Version 9. I always try to read such boards cautiously for fear of the over-zealous posters who spout off (maybe) unjustifiably. However, there is a thread concerning Build 2259 where users are "still" having error problems. In another thread on the topic of selected file backup, there are also users continuing to report hangups as I seem to have had so far. I for one am thinking about re-installing Version 8 until this thing gets straightened out. I'm sure it will get straightened out, right?
    <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16> <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15>

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Update

    Hi Bob,

    I haven't got around to making a boot CD yet, I read through the Official support forum and this seems to be a recurring theme. I upgraded to build 2259 earlier today and it seems to be OK now. They have added an error message if you try to plug-in a tib of files/folders and double-clicking on a tib from windows explorer doesn't cause any hanging. I'm feeling a bit more confident with it now.

    Best wishes,

    Chris

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image 9.0 Update

    Thanks for posting this, Al. I went & bought the update immediately because sometimes I was getting corrupt images with TI 8. However, I haven't installed it yet & I think I'll wait until the bugs are worked out. Another month won't make a difference. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •