Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Firefox doesn't refresh automatically (Firefox 1.06)

    I have http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/login.pl?Cat= set to be my home page. When I start Firefox, my personal control panel comes up, but shows everything as "Read". I have to hit the refresh button to reload the Lounge. That never used to happen. Is there a setting somewhere that I'm missing?
    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox doesn't refresh automatically (Firefox

    I hardly ever visit that screen, so I don't know if it should behave any differently than the Main Index (which always reloads for me, no matter how long it might take).

    If you open a new tab and load about:config, what setting do you have for "browser.cache.check_doc_frequency"? Mine is set to 3, but I don't know what "3" means. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

    Okay, I found it:

    1 = Every time I view the page
    0 = Once per session
    3 = When the page is out of date (default)
    2 = Never

    Source: http://www.mozilla.org/quality/networking/...refs.html#cache

    Historically, the "recommended Lounge settings" had IE users use something like 1. That always seemed like overkill to me, and hard on our servers, but this is exactly the kind of situation it was intended to overcome. (Version 1.5 might actually add a dialog for these settings, but I haven't checked.)

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox doesn't refresh automatically (Firefox

    In version 1.5 you still have to go into about:config to change this setting.

    Mine is also set to 3.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox doesn't refresh automatically (Firefox

    Thanks, Guys. Mine is set to 3 also. Any time I open a new tab, it loads the current page. It's only when I start it up. I wonder if it has anything to do with the fact that I installed the "optimized" version for WinXP? I notice that 1.7 is out, so I may just try that.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox doesn't refresh automatically (Firefox

    Phil

    1.<big>0</big>.7 is the current version. 1.5 will (probably) be the next version, since it's in beta at present, as other threads have indicated.

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox doesn't refresh automatically (Firefox

    Whoops!. Yes. I meant 1.0.7 <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •