Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Normal.dot not created (Office XP Pro SP-3)

    I had a problem with a corrupted Normal.dot file, so I deleted it and decided to let Word create a new one. I only have a couple of small macros and formatting items in it anyway. I do have a backup of Normal.dot, but I'm not sure how good it is (keeps spell checking in Spanish!). However, Word will not create a new Normal.dot. I have set the location for Templates in my D:MSOfficeTemplates directory. If I place the normal.dot backup file in there, Word follows it. Also, using the {ddeauto winword system topics} shows normal.dot in the the proper directory, even though it's not there, even as a hidden file.

    Somewhere on this forum in researching, I read that someone with a similar problem tracked it down to Adobe Acrobat 7, which I do have. There is nothing in the Startup directory pertaining to Acrobat. However, on the menu bar in Word there are two Acrobat entries: "Adobe PDF" and "Acrobat Comments". So, obviously, Acrobat is still interacting with Word.

    Short of uninstalling either Acrobat and/or Office and starting again, I thought I'd pop the question here. I'd like to remove all interaction between Acrobat and Word, if possible. If that doesn't work, well then, I'll try the uninstall and carefully reinstall effort.

    Thanks a lot, everyone, for any thoughts!

    --Bob Harris <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/California.gif border=0 alt=California width=30 height=18>
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot not created (Office XP Pro SP-3)

    Check out Phil Rabichow's <!post=Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word (97/2000),197827>Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word (97/2000)<!/post>.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot not created (Office XP Pro SP-3)

    Hi Hans,
    Thanks for the reply. I have been through Phil's excellant document and found it very informative. The problem is still present. What I'm wondering is how to stop the interaction between Word and Acrobat. The thread I checked yesterday had tracked a similar problem to Acrobat. I still have the two items in the Word Menu bar. So I'm wondering how to get those out of there. They are not there, of course, if I start Word with the " /a " switch.

    Thanks for any thoughts on this one.

    --Bob <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/California.gif border=0 alt=California width=30 height=18>
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot not created (Office XP Pro SP-3)

    Is anything listed in Tools | Templates and Add-Ins?

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot not created (Office XP Pro SP-3)

    Hi Hans,
    I have one template called "Frac2.dot", which I've had for years. That is listed in the Tools | Tmplates and Add-Ins. I did try moving it out and loaded Word again and the behavior is the same, with or without that template. Of course, Normal.dot is listed in the window above.

    Funny thing is that with my old "normal.dot" in the noted templates directory (D:MSOfficetemplates, in my case), it does update. If I rename it "normal.old" no new normal.dot replaces it. However, using the {ddeauto winword system topics}, normal.dot is listed as being in that directory, even though it does not appear in the directory! It doesn't appear to be there as a hidden file, either.

    --Bob <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/California.gif border=0 alt=California width=30 height=18>
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot not created (Office XP Pro SP-3)

    If the Acrobat entries reappear in the menu after renaming/removing Normal.dot, there must be another template/add-in loaded.

    BTW, when you remove Normal.dot, Word will operate with built-in settings. A new Normal.dot will not necessarily be created immediately, only when it is needed (for example when you create macros). The Normal.dot shown in the list before the file is physically created is a phantom one.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot not created (Office XP Pro SP-3)

    Hi Bob:
    1. Have you searched for more than one normal.dot on the entire hard drive? It occurs to me that you might have one that Word is using, but not in the template folder. That would account for different behavior when you place a normal.dot in the template folder.
    2. Since the problem doesn't exist when you start Word with the /a switch, the problem should lie with normal.dot, an add-in, or both. Start Word without your backup normal.dot, an an Autotext entry to normal.dot (any entry will do), & close Word. Can you then find normal.dot?
    3. Add-ins are not only in the Word startup folder. Did you check the Office startup folder.
    4. You can also find com add-ins by going to:
    a. Tools menu/Customize/Commands tab/Category list/Tools.
    b. Using the mouse, drag the COM Add-ins command to a toolbar.
    c. Click Close.
    d. Click the new button to view the Com Add-ins.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot not created (Office XP Pro SP-3)

    Hi Phil,
    Thank you very much for your suggestions and also for the great piece you did on the systematic approach to solving problems in Word. I have worked through that document and followed the suggestions in your reply. Interestingly, nothing shows in the COM Add-ins and only my frac2.dot macro shows in the startup.

    I had read somewhere on this form that Acrobat 7 can cause similar problems and, indeed, I had two menu items in Word that Acrobat placed there. Adobe PDF and Acrobat Comments, or something like that. I could not find these in any of the usual places. So, since despirate people do despirate things, I uninstalled Acrobat 7... VOILA! Word now makes its normal.dot.

    So I'll get it squared away and then put back Acrobat and see if I can do it without the Word components. Which I don't use anyway!

    I hope to find out more about this interaction and if I do I'll share it with this local gentry.

    Thanks again Phil and to Hans also for your great suggestions.

    --Bob <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/California.gif border=0 alt=California width=30 height=18>
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot not created (Office XP Pro SP-3)

    Final resolution:

    Uninstalling Acrobat 7 allows Word to generate it's Normal.dot. Reinstalling Acrobat 7 without the Microsoft Office interaction allows Word to work properly. In my case, this is OK. If a person really needed that interaction (between Acrobat and MS Office) then I'm not sure what the resolution would be because Acrobat 7 definitely interferes with Word's functionality.

    Thanks again for the input.

    --Bob <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/California.gif border=0 alt=California width=30 height=18>
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •