Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Major Problem With New Software

    At my office I am running on NT 4 and using Outlook 97 and IE 4. If Outlook is Active when I start IE, or if I start Outlook after starting IE and then shut it down, and then try to reply to a message in the Lounge, I get an IE error message saying that it can't find the specified site because there is not enough memory available (I have 128 meg). The only way I can seem to reply is to not have had IE and Outlook ever running at the same time. The IE message box is attachded. Same message when I try to attach the .BMP even though Outlook has not been run since I booted, so it is not attached.
    Legare Coleman

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    I have also just discovered that the maximum number of replies that I can make without shutting down IE and restarting it is ONE. If I try to make a second reply, I get the message that there is not enough memory. And of course, when I shut down I lose all of the not read flags, so when I come back I don't know where I was.
    Legare Coleman

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    This is about my 5th reply since this session was opened. I feel that you are having others problem with your machine. This may be a "Resource" problem and not a Memory problem. This site might be pushing the limits for your machine and it's settings, and that is why you are having these problems and no one else.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    I was here in the office yesterday because we were moving a large number of files to a new server (none of them that I have access to). While the data was being copied, I was in my office accessing the Lounge and replying to messages on the old software. I had absolutely no problems. When I got home last evening, I noticed the software change, and had no problems.

    The only thing running in this machine when I have this problem is IE. I boot my machine, start IE, and if I try to send a reply with the .BMP file showing the error I get the error. If I send two replies, I have the problem. If the forum software is causing a 128meg machine that is having no problems with anything else, to run out of resources, then I think that the forum software has problems. I think that it is more likely the combination of IE 4 on NT 4 that is causing something bad to happen in the forum software. And, no, I do not have an option to upgrade either NT or IE until the company moves to W2k in about 6 months.

    This may be a timing problem. I just had the problem sending this message, and had not sent another reply nor had anything else been running. However, it had taken me a number of minutes to type the reply. I wonder if there is a memory leak in the software?
    Legare Coleman

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    This definitely seems to be a memory leak problem. I have discovered that the only way I can send a forum message is to send it within one minute (approximately) of entering the forum. To send a message, I have to type it, copy it, then start IE, go to the forum, and immediately paste and send the message. If I delay long enough to read anything or type anything it fails.
    Legare Coleman

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    Legare,
    We have been testing the new software at a dev site for some time. We the testers did not report this ever happening. I do NOT remember if any one was using the NT 4.0 and IE 4.0, but I am sure that if they were we would have heard about it. And I can relate to the software requirements of ones employer, I was required to run NS 3.0 and NT 3.5 for several years after upgrades and IE were out there..
    If we can get some reports from others users that are having this problem, then we may be able to zoom in on the problem.
    Thanks for joining us here at Woody's Lounge.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    262
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    Legare:

    Can you start up Task Manager and see where your memory and CPU cycles are being allocated? Do you experience problems with other sites you're visiting and posting to?
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><font color=blue>~Shane</font color=blue></font face=comic>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    It must be internal IE memory that is getting hosed. Task manager shows 99% idle time and 75meg of available memory. No problems with any other sites.
    Legare Coleman

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    This is another attempt to send the Error message .BMP file by doing it very quickly after entering the Lounge.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Legare Coleman

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    If you see this message, then it means that I was able to surf around to other sites on the Internet for four to five minutes before going to the Lounge and then quickly sending this message. That should narrow the problem down to something that is happening in the Lounge software.
    Legare Coleman

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    I have also just discovered that I have a similar problem if I press the Preview button. The messages is slightly different in that it says that there is not enough memory to carry out the command, but it sounds identical.
    Legare Coleman

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    If you see this, then I can leave the lounge and go to another Web Site, and then return and quickly send a message without shutting down IE.
    Legare Coleman

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    It looks like the problem is totally isolated to the forum code since leaving the forum clears it up.
    Legare Coleman

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    Did Mom fix the problem? I was just able to post two messages in a row! If this makes it, it will be number three.
    Legare Coleman

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major Problem With New Software

    Hrm...

    No matter what you do @ your employer, you should be able to get an upgrade to I.E. pretty easily. The main reason is security. While there are individuals in your company using 4.0, the security of the corporate network is at risk.

    Given the problems of 4.0, I'm sure it is an issue with the browser, and not the lounge. Be that as it is.. do you experience the same issues if you turn off your pictures?

    4.0 was an iffy beast, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. While you may experience some issues running a more current browser on your platform, the benefits far outweigh the disadvantages. This is of course, my <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>...

    Hope that helps!
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •