Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Benbrook, Texas, USA
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Reference another sheet (2000)

    I would like to keep track of people in my address book using different parts of their information. For Example, I would like to Sort their information by last name, by their rank, and by where they live. I would like the information to be set up on different sheets so I don't have to sort the info everytime. I have attached an example of what I am talking about.

    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Reference another sheet (2000)

    But there is nothing to be displayed or sorted in your workbook... <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Benbrook, Texas, USA
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Reference another sheet (2000)

    I took the names off for privacy act reasons. I will attach another with sample names.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: Reference another sheet (2000)

    There is still nothing to sort in Rank or location and the name list starts at 5 (is this on purpose?)

    I am not clear on what you want to accomplish, exactly
    Steve

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Benbrook, Texas, USA
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Reference another sheet (2000)

    If you look on the By Name sheet, that will be the main sheet that I enter the data on. I would then like the other two sheets to sort the data as specified (by Rank and by city/state)

    I accidentally entered the data on line 5. Normally it would be entered on line 2.

    THanks for your help.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: Reference another sheet (2000)

    There is no data there to sort.

    Do you want to keep three copies of the same data (on three diff sheets) with the only difference that they are sorted differently?

    I would not recommend this. Making sure all the data is "in -sync" could become a nightmare. Any changes on any of the sheets would have to be made to the other sheets (edits, addition, deletions) that is just becomes so overly complex.

    I would recommend, just having 1 sheet of the data and have macros run to sort by a particular column. For example, you could have a button on each column and when it was pressed the data would be sorted by that column. It seems it would be as easy for the people to press a button to sort as it would be to press a button to change sheets, and you have the added advantage that your data integrity issue of 3 copies goes away.

    Just my <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>

    Steve

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Reference another sheet (2000)

    Have you considered using the AutoFilter capability?
    Regards
    Don

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Benbrook, Texas, USA
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Reference another sheet (2000)

    Ok, so how do I write the macros to make the buttons to sort the data?

    Thanks

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: Reference another sheet (2000)

    I generally start by recording a macro with the macrorecorder . Start the recorder (tools - macro-record new macro) and sort the column
    Stop the recorder, look at the code in VB and generalize it and clean it up.

    Then add it to a button.

    I don't know if that is enough details to start (I have no idea of you "skill level"). If you have specific questions, please post back.

    Steve

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •