Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Web Page wants to connect (IE 5, XP Home, SP2)

    For some reason when I go to the web page http://www.processlibrary.com IE immediately pops up a window wanting me to connect via a dial-up. I am on a broadband connection!! Other web pages I go to work normally (for example this one: Woody's Lounge). But when I go to this particular page it thinks I'm not connected! This is strange behaviour as I have used this page many times before without such a problem.

    Any suggestions as to what's going on here?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Web Page wants to connect (IE 5, XP Home, SP2)

    Is it possible that this page was saved for working offline? (I haven't quite figured out how the offline features work...)

    You also can turn off the "dial a connection" setting under Tools>Internet Options.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Web Page wants to connect (IE 5, XP Home, SP2)

    I checked and somehow I had "Dial whenever a connection not present" selected! I switched it back to "never dial a connection" and that cured the problem. Thanks. How it got switched remains a mystery, as I have been on cable for several years already.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Web Page wants to connect (IE 5, XP Home, SP2)

    Hi Chuck:
    I'm not sure how it got changed, but I know that every time there is a MS update (whether to Windows, Office, or IE), it changes many settings back to MS defaults. If you're on cable, though, there shouldn't be dialup settings whatsoever (i.e. mine are grayed out).

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Web Page wants to connect (IE 5, XP Home, SP2)

    Edited by Phil Rabichow to make the link clickable - see Help #19
    You're right Phil, See <post#=521,785>post 521,785</post: > above where I mistakenly had dialup turned on.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •