Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    McAffe Anti virus

    Hi all,

    I am trying to scan my PC for viruses but for the sacnning process hang afer some files are sccaned the program closes, any ideas how to fix thsi problem, i am able to do updates, the anti virus is up to date but i can not scan my hradrive.

    Thanks skender

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: McAffe Anti virus

    First, I have a Lounge administrative question for you. In order to avoid assistance difficulties, is this the same machine you posted about <!post=in this post,522,134>in this post<!/post>? If so, we should work on one problem at a time. If I'm barking up the wrong tree, let me know and please wait for someone who uses McAfee to make a suggestion.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: McAffe Anti virus

    It is not the same machine, this applies to my Desktop.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: McAffe Anti virus

    OK, thanks and sorry for the confusion. McAfee users, can you help 'em out? While you're waiting, have you run any spyware detection stuff recently, like AdAware or Spybot? If not, would you try that? There are some dirtbags out there who monkey with our antivirus programs in order to do slimy things. You could also try one of the online scanners such as HouseCall, an icon for which should be at the upper part of this forum page.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: McAffe Anti virus

    thanks a lot
    i will try this when i get home

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: McAffe Anti virus

    I have used Beta Anti Spyware, and also online house call virus check. then run the virus check, it's still gets stuck...

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: McAffe Anti virus

    Try contacting McAffee support. It sounds like you may have a corrupt installation or files.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: McAffe Anti virus

    Sounds like Doc may be right. If I remember correctly (it's been over 3 years) if you DO have to re-install McAfee because of corruption, it used to be necessary not only to first un-install, but absolutely delete the McAfee directory from the hard drive, AND go into the registry and delete the McAfee registry keys BEFORE you attempt to re-install. I don't know if all that mess is still required, but it was one of the things that caused me to leave the product, along with its resource hogging tendancies.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: McAffe Anti virus

    Many thanks

    Skender

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •