Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melb, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IDE drive swap problem

    Hi all, I'll try to be brief. Was recently given a preloved Dell Dimension L667r. O/S is XP pro + SP2. To cut a long
    story short, found that the hard drive is installed as the secondary master with the DVD burner as the secondary
    slave. No problem at this point. I want to move the hard drive to the primary master position to make way for
    another drive and at this point my problem begins. When I do this, the drive boots as per normal but after the XP
    splash screen I'm prompted with what I guess is the XP equivalent of hitting F8 on older versions of windows. i.e.
    options for safe mode, safe mode with command prompt etc etc. No matter what option I enter, the machine
    reboots and goes back to this same option page without actually booting the O/S. I have checked the BIOS and
    both IDE channels are enabled and everything else seems at it should ( I'm not an expert in this department ). The
    boot search sequence is floppy, CD, HHD. I'm unsure if this is a hardware prob or an XP prob but I'm posting here
    because it seems more likely to me to be hardware config related. Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly
    appreciated. Thanks - Michael.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: IDE drive swap problem

    Have you checked the jumper settings on the drives ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melb, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IDE drive swap problem

    Hi Doc, the jumper on the drive in question is set as 'master'. I should point out that the drive boots normally as the master drive when on the secondary IDE channel. I leave it as the master drive and move it to the primary IDE channel ( no slave on the channel ) and the problem occurs. I'll try swapping it to slave and see if it makes a difference but I don't understand why it would. Thanks for your reply and I'll update any news.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: IDE drive swap problem

    Check the boot order setting in the BIOS to be sure that it's looking for the hard drive on the primary channel and not a CD drive.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IDE drive swap problem

    Is the HD a Western Digital?
    Some of the WD drives had different jumper settings depending on if there was another drive present as a secondary or alone as master.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IDE drive swap problem

    You may have just hit upon the solution -- I'll bet it is a WD drive, and the jumpers need to be changed.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IDE drive swap problem

    I wonder if your boot.ini file needs to be revised.

    My boot.ini (C lists

    <code><!t>[boot loader]<!/t>
    timeout=5
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINDOWS
    <!t>[operating systems]<!/t>
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINDOWS="Micros oft Windows XP Home Edition" /fast detect /NoExecute=OptIn</code>



    If I'm not mistaken, your boot.ini may list disk(1) instead.
    Christopher Baldrey

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melb, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IDE drive swap problem

    Back again. Thank you for all the replies. Ok, the drive is a Seagate 'U series 5' UltraATA. The jumper settings available are
    1.Master or single drive (this is what I have it set to and working on the secondary IDE)
    2.Drive is slave
    3.Master with a non-ATA slave
    4.Cable select
    Have tried all 4 settings for the sake of the exercise with no difference.
    The bios does recognise the drive as primary master when I move it to that position but it just does not want to boot. The IDE configuration for boot sequence is floppy, IDE HDD, CD. The drive type selection is auto.
    My boot.ini reads the drive as (0)
    When I put the drive on the primary IDE and try to boot from safe mode it loads up 40-50 drivers and reboots at c:windowssystem32driversmup.sys. A bit of googling brings up a squillion potential issues with this file and I'll have to look into it.
    Whooa, I'll stop here. I have just put an old W98 disc in the machine (only just thought of it) as primary master and it boots without a problem. Perhaps this is an XP issue after all.
    I'll leave it here as I want to try a few things and hunt up some more info. XP recovery console is looking good at this stage.
    Any thoughts are appreciated and thanks once again - Michael.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IDE drive swap problem

    You might want to try, while in the Recovery Console, the fixboot and fixmbr (fixmbr DeviceHardDisk0) commands. I'd try fixboot first. If you boot from the Windows CD, and choose the 'R' (recovery) option, you should be able to boot into the console, since you probably can't boot into it from your hard drive. Could be a partition table problem... Just a guess, though, since your Win98 hard drive booted up. Let me know if it works.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •