Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ado recordsetclone (2002)

    anyone know how to set a bookmark using recordsetclone in ADO, or anywhere i can get the info

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: ado recordsetclone (2002)

    Type Bookmark in a module or in the Immediate window, and press F1 to get help. Select the ADODB item. Read the online help, then click on Example. The middle example is for VB/VBA.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ado recordsetclone (2002)

    it wasnt so much the bookmark property it was more how do you do recordset clone in ado like in dao

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ado recordsetclone (2002)

    Hans, can you also still use embedded sql statements as recordsources if you are using ADO?

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: ado recordsetclone (2002)

    You can create a clone of a recordset using its Clone method. For example, to create a clone of the recordset behind a form:

    Dim rst As ADODB.Recordset
    Set rst = Me.Recordset.Clone

    or

    Set rst = Forms!frmMyForm.Recordset.Clone

    The instruction with Me only works in the module of the form itself.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: ado recordsetclone (2002)

    Someone else will have to answer that. I know nothing about SQL Server.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ado recordsetclone (2002)

    Thanks Hans

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ado recordsetclone (2002)

    Do you mean a select statement written in the Data Source property of the form? You can do it, but it does not result in an ADO recordset. Access 2002 has a lot of built-in support for both ADO and DAO and the objects like forms and reports are essentially DAO-based unless you specifically assign a pre-defined ADO recordset to them. Incidentally, RecordsetClone is DAO, so don't try it on an ADO recordset. For the latter, you have to use Recordset.Clone as Hans instructed.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •