Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Transfering info from one hard drive to another

    I have a brand new Western Digital HD and would like to transfer all the info from a Plextor that is starting to sound like a parakeet I once owned. Is there a way I can easily transfer everything from one to the other?
    Catz

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Transfering info from one hard drive to another

    Hi Pauliez

    For Win98, I have successfully used XXCOPY for this purpose.
    I have found the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>ware version totally adequate.
    Cloning the Win9x system disk using XXCOPY is a detailed article dedicated specifically to this operation.

    Alan

  4. #3
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Transfering info from one hard drive to another

    I have tried to use the XXcopy and found it very hard to use. Any other ideas?
    Catz

  5. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Transfering info from one hard drive to anothe

    Have you tried the Western Digital LifeGuard tools? There is a function that lets you copy from an old hard drive to a new one. In case you didn't get a WD CD with your hard drive, here's the link where you can get it. WD Data LifeGuard

  6. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Transfering info from one hard drive to another

    What exactly do you find difficult?
    Here is an example of a batch file solution I wrote for somebody, for maintaining a mirror of C: on D:
    <code>
    @echo off
    cls
    echo Ready to backup drive C: to drive D: then shutdown
    echo.
    echo Choose from 1, 2, 3 or wait 10 seconds for the default.
    echo.
    echo 1 Default - Backup then shutdown
    echo 2 Backup only
    echo 3 Abort program
    echo.
    CHOICE /C:123 /N /T:1,10 Type 1, 2 or 3...

    if errorlevel 3 goto finish
    XXCOPY C: D: /CLONE
    echo Backup done

    if errorlevel 2 goto finish
    C:WINDOWSRUNDLL32.EXE user,exitwindows
    echo Shutdown done

    :finish
    if errorlevel 3 echo Program terminated by user.
    </code>

    Cloning to a new (empty) HD is essentially the same thing.

    Alan

  7. #6
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Transfering info from one hard drive to another

    I found it very hard to understand. But I do have some good news. While I was waiting for your reply I did a Google and found a program called MaxBlast4. I ran it and it was easier to use than sending a E-Mail. It cloned the second HD in about twenty min. It was as easy to use as coping a floppy. Can you check it out and let me know what you think of it.
    Catz

  8. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Transfering info from one hard drive to another

    Glad you found a smooth solution.

    But let me ask: Does this MaxBlast 4 Maxtor utility work generically, on all ATA/IDE hard drives? I'm getting mixed messages from their website and other postings I've seen. For instance this post says:

    "The program I use is ''MaxBlast 4 for Windows'' which will do a complete image drive copy from one drive to the other drive - while - running under windows. I know that you *do not* have to be using Maxtor drives for this utility to work."

    Alan

  9. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Transfering info from one hard drive to anothe

    Alan,
    Not knowing the answer to your question was why I suggested (since he has a WD hdd) that he use Western Digital's LifeGuard Tools copy function. WD LifeGuard Tools

  10. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Transfering info from one hard drive to anothe

    I'd be very careful to check and re-check that resulting copied drive if I were you. I don't know WHY Maxtor would have a statement on their web page that you must have at least ONE Maxtor drive in the system if there weren't "some" possible consequence. In spite of the post Alan referenced, which says that "it works" on all drives, it seems to me that there might be a hook somewhere in the process. Just be doubly careful.

    ( <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> It could be that the reason for the disclaimer is to keep from irritating folks like Acronis or Symantec...)

  11. #10
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Transfering info from one hard drive to another

    If you can see the program start it does not ask that you have a Maxtor drive. It only ask for the source drive which in my case was C and the destination drive which in my case was D.
    So far everything was transfered like it cloned the C drive onto the D drive. Download the program to see what I mean. You do need to have a clean second HD installed for the program to work properly.
    Catz

  12. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Transfering info from one hard drive to anothe

    >> ....it seems to me that there might be a hook somewhere....

    It may be no more than a polite licence 'requirement', in much the way a restaurant asks that you only eat food purchased from them if using their tables.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •