Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Text area width and such

    I'm trying to adjust my display settings so that the post edit/ composition textarea width is the same as things will appear in the posted message. I'd like to be able to see what word wrap is doing before I insert manual linebreaks. I've played with "Text area columns" but can't get anywhere. Are there recommended/ default settings?

    BTW, line 1 above finishes with "appear in " in the composition and preview windows.

    Alan

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text area width and such

    I don't think there is a straightforward answer. If you are trying to match up in preview what others are going to see, you have to take into account resolution of their monitor, the browser window size, the font size they are viewing in and whether they are viewing with PostFormat set to Top or Side.
    I've settled at a 120 x 8 text area and I really can't remember what the default is, but I rarely have my browser window maximised anyway.
    I recommend anything that you are happy with <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text area width and such

    I'll toss an isosahedral coin then and see what comes up.

    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>
    Alan

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text area width and such

    I'm curious for your reason(s) to place manual line breaks in the text.

    The 1-Click TagPanel has options for placing the line breaks in code.

    I don't think I've reset the size on my create post input - but then, I'm using 3 different screen resolutions to view the lounge.
    Christopher Baldrey

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Text area width and such

    I believe the default is 64 x 8 and if so, that would explain the point at which you said that first line broke. A long time ago, I fiddled with mine as well since, as Leif said, I have my Lounge setting for the "side" post format and was (almost) trying to achieve what you are doing. I gave up after a few test tries and ever since I changed my screen resolution to 1152 x 864 I've been using a Lounge setting of 200 x 5 so I can see as much as possible as I type a post. I resigned myself to the fact that the "final" will be wrapped in different places than the preview. I didn't have the patience to keep trying.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text area width and such

    Not sure what you're referring to here Chris. By linebreaks I simply mean hard returns. It's just that I prefer to have all of a sentence on its own line and avoid little end fragments on a line by themselves (more readable IMO). This is especially so in short replies of just a few sentences. For this reason I like to see in advance where it might be appropriate to hit the Enter key.

    Alan

    c.f.
    Not sure what you're referring to here Chris. By linebreaks I simply mean hard returns.
    It's just that I prefer to have all of a sentence on its own line and avoid small end fragments on a line by themselves (more readable IMO). This is especially so in short replies of just a few sentences.
    For this reason I like to see in advance where it might be appropriate to hit the Enter key.

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text area width and such

    > I gave up ... I resigned ... I didn't have the patience ...

    I like your style Al, and I believe I can follow your methodology to the letter.
    I should have known you'd come up with the perfect paradigm. I'm sold! <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

    Alan

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Text area width and such

    But that would only work for your setup. Natural line breaks can fall in many places, depending on the user's screen resolution, size of the browser window, and Lounge settings (such as the Lounge skin). So if you carefully arrange line breaks for your situation, they may be "wrong" for someone else. I don't think it's worth bothering with.

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text area width and such

    I'm tending to agree. At this point, I'm beginning to favour Bigaldoc's method.

    Alan

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text area width and such

    Sorry about the confusion - it was really early when I posted that.

    I was trying to say exactly what Hans did - the other users of the lounge aren't (always) going to see the line breaks as you place them, because of the line wrapping already present, their resolution, etc...

    Thanks <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>
    Christopher Baldrey

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Text area width and such

    > avoid little end fragments on a line by themselves

    I sometimes insert "hard" or non-breaking spaces if I see a pronoun such as "I" at the end of a line, or if some phrase I want to stay together is coming apart. To enter a non-breaking space, you can type the HTML character entity &*nbsp; (without the space after the &). This will convert to a hard space when you post.

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text area width and such

    Good tip. Thanks Jefferson.

    Alan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •