Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Spyware not scanning all users?

    (Sorry this might be duplicate post; I prepared one but it seemed to be lost)


    I did a Spyware scan (Ad-Aware) yesterday and cleaned some stuff. Then I logged onto the account of one of my kids (on the same system) and repeated the scan. I then found many more Spyware. This showed to me something I had not realized before, which is that even though I was logged on as administrator on my own account, I cannot clean my whole system...

    As my kids are not (yet) fully aware of Spyware and other crap; are there ways (are there scanners?) that do scan my whole system (provided I'm an admin, that's OK)??

    Suggestions? Ideas?

    Thanks!

    PS. I am running also MS Anitspyware but this once seems to suffer from the same problem

    PS2. From what I've heard and seen Suites (lile ZoneAlarm) do not filter out all in their scans.too

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spyware not scanning all users?

    I think Spybot - Search and Destroy will scan all the files on a hard disk, if asked.

    For Ad-aware, have a look at this thread

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spyware not scanning all users?

    Thanks for the tips; I'll first try to Tweak Ad-Aware a bit more before I'll consider yet another scanner (like Spybot)

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Spyware not scanning all users?

    I strongly recommend that you install and use SpyBot regularly. Virtually every article and comparison of spyware products I've read ends up recommending that multiple products be used. Each seems to catch something others miss.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spyware not scanning all users?

    Agreed.. see my first PS in my first topic entry: I run MS AntiSpyware too (but have doubts about all users there as well)

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spyware not scanning all users?

    As for Ad-aware, you probably need to check through the Microsoft AntiSpyware Beta "SpywareScan -> Scan Options" to see whether you have set/defaulted the "Full system scan" and checked the "Scan drive/folders" "..." option to include all the userid folders under Cocuments and Settings. A visual inspection of the updating filenames seemed to indicate that it went through all the userid files on my computer!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •