Thread: Advice Please!

Lounger
    Thanks

Advice Please!

Let me start by saying that I am a VBA novice. I am using Excel 97 (SR1). I have been viewing the WOPR Lounge for a while and you friendly, helpful people have given me the courage to attempt my first project.

Attached is an example (Grain Coverage Report) which illustrates the format the User would like to see. The User inputs the budget information and the Grain Department inputs the purchase information. Currently, all the data in the "Budget vs. Actual" section is manually updated based on the data entered in the "Purchases" section. What I would like to do is make everything in the "Budget vs.Actual" section update automatically as information is entered into the "Purchases" section.

Please give me your suggestions on what you think is the best approach (formulas, macros, pivot tables, etc.) to achieve the desired result.

Thanks in advance for your consideration and invaluable help.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Advice Please!

I have attached a modified version of your spreadsheet that I think does what you wanted. It assumes that you will be adding additional P.O.'s up through row 100. I had to delete your hidden row 26 for this to work. This sheet uses array formulas to calculate Purchased, Average Price, and Delivered, and normal formulas to calculate Unpurchased and Undelivered. I also added a new column that calculates the number of loads in column AU.
    Legare Coleman

Lounger
    Thanks

WOW! I didn't expect such a complete solution in such a short time. I will work with it in the next day or two to make sure I didn't overlook anything. I will report back to you when I get finished to say "thanks" again.

Lounger
    Thanks