Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Desktop Error Message (Win XP SP1)

    Every time I boot I get the notice that IE 6 has been removed from this computer. Do you want to cleanup your personal setting for this program. I click no and Windows loads.

    IE has not been removed, but the message keeps showing up. How can I stop this misleading message?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Desktop Error Message (Win XP SP1)

    In your attempt to install a newer version of the WMP, did you not play around with the system <post#=526,874>post 526,874</post: > installed app's?

    This could have flagged the removal of IE.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Error Message (Win XP SP1)

    I don't think i did, but since there was no uninstall, I removed manually every file that said Media Player. Is there a way to fix the notice without doing a clean install of Windows XP?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Desktop Error Message (Win XP SP1)

    That might be part of the problem Gloria. Manually removing Windows components is NOT the way to uninstall a program. And actually, there is an uninstall routine for WMP. Start>Control Panel>Add or Remove Programs and click on Add/Remove Windows Components. This brings up the window below.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Error Message (Win XP SP1)

    Actually I tried that. It's still not clear how to add or remove just one. I go in and I see items already checked and I wanted to remove one, WMP. So I unchecked all and a message appeared that my CD was required and then it started installing things. What's the correct procedure for adding and/or removing one program? Do I unchecked the ones that were checked previously so that they won't install again? I'm about as confused as someone with Alzheimers.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Desktop Error Message (Win XP SP1)

    By removing a check mark the program will be remove. So if you removed all of the check marks then you did in fact remove these programs.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Error Message (Win XP SP1)

    Stupid me! That's why IE was missing, I removed it.. Where can I learn about using that Windows tool? Guessing will get me into a whole lot more trouble.

    Maybe someday, this forum can stop baby-sitting me. Thanks Dave, you're a shelter in a raging storm.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Desktop Error Message (Win XP SP1)

    There's really not a whole lot to learn Gloria. If you put a check mark in the box opposite the component name, then you want to install it. If you remove the check mark, then you don't want to install it OR if it is already installed, you want to remove it.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Error Message (Win XP SP1)

    I want to get this clear in my head. If an item is already checked and it's not the one I want to change, I leave it checked and it will not download again. Correct? The check mark means that it was installed.

    Very simply one you know what you're doing. This was never explained to me and I found no information regarding it's use.

    Thanks Rebel for the information.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Desktop Error Message (Win XP SP1)

    Correct. If it's checked, it IS already installed. If you don't want to remove it, leave it alone. If you do want to remove it, remove the check mark.
    If it's not checked, then it's NOT installed. If you don't want it installed, then leave it as is. If you do want it installed, then insert a check mark.

    Only the components that you check or uncheck will be installed or removed. Anything that you leave alone will be ignored.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Error Message (Win XP SP1)

    It finally sunk in and I understand perfectly.

    Now I have good news regarding my original post (the error on my desktop). Someone sent me an article from the Microsoft Knowlege Base ( ID: 298629 ), it wasn't exactly the reason for the message but I followed the path in the registry and changed the zero to a one. Then I rebooted and the error message did not appear.

    The problem's no longer my problem. My thanks to you and all others who tried to help me.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •