Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    New install problem... (XP Pro)

    My daughter's PC motherboard "died". It was having trouble keeping the CPU fan going even after replacing the fan. It (the fan) eventually would start, then stopped. My "computer guy" said it was the MB, so I had him replace it. The system is an 800mhz AMD.

    I got it home to start to install XP and it continued to hang at the same place. I tried booting from a floppy and forcing an install and I even tried booting from the XP disk. Either it would hang after a few minutes of copying files or it would blue screen stating that "a problem as been detected...Driver_IRQL_Less_Or_Equal *stop 0x000000D1.
    Then I tried it again and it said Page_fault_in_nonpaged_area.

    What's going on? I have several install CD's and they all do the same thing.

    --KZ

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New install problem... (XP Pro)

    Ordinarily I would suggest you first take the cover off and check for snug cables, well-seated RAM, etc. But, in this case since you just paid someone to refurbish the machine, that may not be a good idea. If you have a number of OS CDs and they're all exhibiting this behaviour, I think I'd make another visit to the man and ask him to watch as this error happens. Mebbe I'm lazy, I don't know... <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New install problem... (XP Pro)

    A Google on this topic brings up many hits. Most threads seem to indicate that this is associated with bad RAM, a bad motherboard or a problematic CD drive. I think I'd be taking that machine back to your "computer guy".
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New install problem... (XP Pro)

    Yep. Sounds like it. I'll bring it back Friday and report back. Thanks

    --KZ

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New install problem... (XP Pro)

    It definitely sounds as if you might have a memory module that's failing, or has already failed. Does the amount of RAM that shows up in the POST screen agree with the actual amount of RAM that's installed? If you have shared memory (onboard video), you will need to subtract that amount from the amount of physical RAM installed to get the total. If you do not see the correct amount, you could have bad memory. Or, it could show up as the correct amount in POST, but still could be failing intermittently. You might want to run MemTest 86 for a few hours to see how your memory fares. MemTest 86 In any case, take the machine back and have your computer guy take a look at it.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New install problem... (XP Pro)

    The amount of RAM indicated in the POST is the amount of RAM installed.

    I am running the RAM test now and will report back. Thanks

    I'd like to be able to tell the "computer guy" what's wrong if I can.

    --KZ

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New install problem... (XP Pro)

    that user pic is great... <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>
    <big>John</big>

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New install problem... (XP Pro)

    I'm glad you like it. LOL <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>


    BTW, the memory test showed a ton of errors the first round. That was with 3 sticks installed. I took out one and it still gave errors. I'm running it now with just one.
    Attempting to find out which one(s) are bad.

    --KZ

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New install problem... (XP Pro)

    With all 3 sticks installed, I got many many errors on the RAM test. I then tested each individual stick--no errors. I then put one stick in each of the slots one by one thinking that one of the slots was bad, still no errors. So, I'm wondering now if the guy who replaced the board didn't get the sticks installed correctly seated.

    I then tried the XP install, which used to hose at the exact same spot a dozen times. This time it went right on through. (This is with using only 2 of the sticks--one of the RAM was smaller and a different brand--just guessing here.) It got to where there was 1 minute left in the install and it blue screened with a memory dump. I rebooted and it went right on finishing the install though.

    This was all late last night, so I'll continue the testing Friday evening.

    --KZ

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New install problem... (XP Pro)

    If it was me, and I hadjust paid for the labbor and price markup on the sticks, I'd want all the Ram replaced.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New install problem... (XP Pro)

    The only thing replaced was the MB. He didn't add or replace any RAM. That was old RAM that was already in there.

    --KZ

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New install problem... (XP Pro)

    "Old RAM" could then be your problem. Check out your MOBO manual and determine the type of RAM recommended. With the price of RAM now, it should be pretty inexpensive to replace. If your current RAM is not compatible, then it's likely that sporadic problems will continue.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New install problem... (XP Pro)

    With that one RAM stick out, it has been running perfectly for several days now. The one that was apparently bad was small anyway, so there's plenty still.

    Interestingly I ran the RAM test program on another PC that was acting up a ton as well. It would freeze up several times a day. One of the RAM on that one was bad too. I took it out and it's been running perfectly ever since too. Wow. I didn't realize that RAM was so volatile and would disrupt a PC so bad.

    Thanks everyone for that suggestion!!

    --KZ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •