Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Changing default location of 'Save as'

    I would like to change the default location for the "Save as" pathname, as it keeps coming up as "My Documents" in the path name.
    see attachment.

    Any assistance would be appreciated.

    Justin.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    Which application?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    An alternative, which may achieve what you want, is to redirect My Documents to the location where you normally store documents. The dialog boxes will still open pointing to My Documents, but this will now be the correct default location.

    You can move my documents with TweakUI, or with regedit, or (I think) just by dragging My Documents to the correct location in Windows Explorer.

    StuartR

    Edited by StuartR to add
    A quick search for Move My Documents on the microsoft web site shows the preferred method for moving this location is to right click on My Documents in Windows Explorer and change the location on the Target tab

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    How do l redirect My Documents to another location?
    I don't want to move my documents but simply change the path name.
    I am bit reluctant to edit the registry, what is the easiest way to do this?

    Justin.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    Imaging for Windows.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    To change the target location for My Documents see the final edit on my post above.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    Not used that product, but doesn't it allow you to set the default filing location in its Preferences screen (or whatever they call it)? Even MS's software products let you change the default. <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19>

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    There is not an option to do this in the program.

    Justin

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    Windows "Save As" dialog box opens in last used location where you used last time you save this particular file type. The most recent used (MRU) list is stored in the Registry in

    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVe rsionExplorerComDlg32OpenSaveMRU < FileType> MRUList
    The first letter of this key value is pointing to the key which value contains a path for "Save As" dialog box.

    For example, if you want to save JPEG image, "Save As" dialog box will open in:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVe rsionExplorerComDlg32OpenSaveMRUjpg
    "MRUList"="fedcbajihg"
    "f"="D:Picturesfoo.jpg"

    - in D:Pictures

    However, some Microsoft applications stored their MRUs in different keys. For example, MRU key for Excel 2003:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftOffice11.0Common Open FindMicrosoft Office ExcelSettingsSave AsFile Name MRU

    Unfortunately, I don't have Digital Image Suite and can not tell you where its MRU is stored.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    I like using the TweakUI powertoy from windows powertoys http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloa...ppowertoys.mspx

    This will let you change the name and location of the "special" folders easily. I like to move the fodler to the root directory so I can find it easier from the file manager. You could put it on an external drive, a RAID, a network drive, whatever works for you.

    I've found that it'sjust a lot simpler to Stop Worry and Love the My Documents folder. Just move it to somewhere that meets your needs.

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,921
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    Justin,

    Even though this is not an answer to the question you're asking, it might be something to consider. Supposing you had several programs that "Saved As" to "My Documents" and you wanted them all to be stored in different places. Clicking "Save As" will still open to My Documents. But if you put a shortcut to different folders where you really want to save things into the My Documents folder, then you could click on the one you wanted for the program you're currently in. Just like the screen shot you provided has My Music and My Pictures and you can get to those by double clicking whichever you want, there would now be additional items in that dialog for each shortcut that you put into My Documents.

    If you only care about the one program you're working with, then some of the other solutions suggested in the thread are better.

    Fred

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ancaster, Ontario
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    I may be too late on this, but my comments:
    1) Most of the MS stuff gives you the option to pick file location. I run into folks frequently that don't know that.
    2} I do use Fred's suggestion to keep folders for the app in my docs, but that is as much a back-up strategy as anything
    3)Used to be able to make a shortcut for the program and define the target (start in), then start the prog from the shortcut. Worked for some...save as went to the target.
    4)Failing that, put a shortcut in the save-as dialogue box in the left panel for the location, so save as-one click only gets you where you want to go.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    You know what I want? I want applications to "follow me" around the my storage. Say for example, I go to GreatApp.com and download greatapp.zip. I have to tell the browser to save the file in appsutilitiesgreatapp. Then I open the user manual greatapp.pdf. I want to save this, but I have to tell Acrobat not to save in it's default folder, but to save it where I saved the download. Then I open Winzip, and again, I have to tell it where the file is I want to unzip, and then where it is I want it unzipped. And so on and so on. Each new program I use, I have to redirect it from it's "default directory" and point it to where I want it to go.

    And if after all of this, I find www.AnotherCoolApp.com, I get to do it all over again.

    I want applications that are aware enough to notice what I'm doing and present logical default choices. Even a "My Recent Documents" that actually worked properly.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    Next you are going to want the OS to remember where you put that "GreatApp" 6 months ago.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Changing default location of 'Save as'

    I'd suspect that MS will put something like Google Desktop into their next OS just to keep pace. Rumblings about Google's venture into the OS arena has got the kids in Redmond looking over their shoulder.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •