Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System File Checker (XP Home SP1)

    I tried to run SFC like I sometimes do, but this time I saw a message that says: "Please insert the Windows XP Pro Sp2 CD."

    I never had XP Pro nor SP2. I ran SFC a couple of weeks ago and everything was fine. This began after I installed the latest hotfixes. I checked all the hotfixes listed in Add Remove Programs and everything seems ok, they all affected Windows XP or Win XP w/SP1. I've done too much work on this computer to use System Restore since the hotfixes were installed.

    What can I do to correct this error message?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: System File Checker (XP Home SP1)

    "What can I do to correct this error message? "

    Since you have installed some of the updates which were released after SP2 then the SP2 CD or a copy of SP2 needs to be on your machine is required, because SFC needs some SP2 files. The ONLY way to correct the error is to install SP2 or quit running SFC.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System File Checker (XP Home SP1)

    Thank you Dave for replying so swiftly. The only thing I can say is: Goodbye SFC.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System File Checker (XP Home SP1)

    Edited by HansV to make URL clickable. It's very simple: put <!t><!/t> before the web address and <!t><!/t> after it.

    I was just sent a possible solution to my problem. Take a look at Microsoft's article number 897128 to be found here:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...kb;en-us;897128
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System File Checker (XP Home SP1)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Duchess843 on 28-Oct-05 19:59. Forgot to mention the fix.)</P>Thanks for the lesson Hans. Do you also included the brackets used in your demonstration?

    I've learned more about using my computer from lounge members than reading the several text books I've studied.

    Someone advised me to insert the CD for Windows Home Edition in spite of being asked for the Windows Professional CD. I did and quess what? It ran and silently disappeared when done. It didn't help my problem, but at least I know I can continue to use SFC.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: System File Checker (XP Home SP1)

    > Do you also included the brackets used in your demonstration?

    Yes. For example, to create a link to www.microsoft.com in a post, you type the following:

    <code><!t><!/t>www.microsoft.com<!t><!/t></code>


    The Lounge software changes this to http://www.microsoft.com when you post it (the http:// is added automatically)

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System File Checker (XP Home SP1)

    Thank you. One more for my treasure chest of fixes from the lounge.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System File Checker (XP Home SP1)

    Dave,
    A question: if you have, for instance XP SP1 and the install media, and have installed updates for the appropriate version, wouldn't SFC compare files with install media (XP SP1 CD's) and the file cache for updates? Since I use SP2, I do not know the exact situation regarding updates for SP1, but I do know that there certainly are updates specific for XP and SP1, and sometimes updates that will work with SP1 or SP2.

    SFC can sometimes ask for a CD that doesn

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: System File Checker (XP Home SP1)

    If I remember at one time it was a check to see if one had the CD for a legal copy of the OS, this was long before the Genuine Windows program.

    Edit: NOT all people have installed SP2 for one reason or other.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •