Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Redwood City, California, USA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Monitor failing?

    I am seeing weird monitor behavior that may be a sign of partial failure. I would appreciate comments for those who know more about hardware than I.

    The monitor is a NANAO FlexScan TS17 being driven by a Matrox G400 card under Win2k SP4. It had worked fine for some years. I updated the firmware and driver in the G400 and could no longer use many of the display resolution options. At all but the highest resolution, the image on the screen shrunk to fill only a portion of the screen. It is as if the monitor/card would not change the scan/refresh rate to accommodate the lower resolution at full screen.

    I replaced the G400 with a Diamond Stealth S85 (Radeon 9250) and still had bad, but different, behavior. The screen image is the same at the maximum resolution (1280x1024). The monitor hardware reports refresh 75.1 and horizontal scan of 80.1. When I drop to any lower resolution, the monitor hardware reports 59.8 refresh rate and 31.4 horizontal scan rate. The Windows Advanced display properties shows 640x480 & 60 Hz.. The screen image is now bigger than the actual screen. The card lets me pan to have the screen "window" to cover different parts of the screen image.

    I am guessing that the monitor can no longer use some of its scan frequencies, the cards somehow sense this, and the cards adjust to live with the scan rates the monitor still works at.

    Is this assessment of the situation basically right?

    While is is not optimal, I can live with the high resolution. Is this symptom (not just the 11 year age of the monitor) a sign that the monitor is nearing death?

    Should this cause worry about damage to the rest of my equipment?

    Thanks for any help,

    Joe M

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Monitor failing?

    im suprised it lasted for 11 years! <img src=/S/shocked.gif border=0 alt=shocked width=15 height=15> i don't know the reason why it doesn't work, but i don't think i've had a monitor last more than... 7 or 8 years. and i'd say atleast your near-death assessment was correct! what is that monitor originally from? a Pentium @ 75mhz? 486?

    IMO i don't think it would damage the rest of your computer (i guess it could though).
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>
    <big>John</big>

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Monitor failing?

    I do not see it causing damage to any other equipment.

    It does sound as though the monitor is failing - certainly trying another card is a major clue. You could try another monitor on that PC to be sure, but I suspect it will work. 11 years is a long time and you should be happy with that performance. It may only be a dirty relay or some other resolution switching device, but it will probably cost $100 to have someone look at it. But then, there's nothing to say something else won't fail the next week.

    Time for a new monitor, IMO.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Monitor failing?

    I agree with John and Bill - if you can install a Radeon 9250 (I just put one in my VAIO VGCR-B30), a new monitor shouldn't be a problem....or you could buy a flat panel TV and use the S-Video output from your card <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Monitor failing?

    Hey Jeremy, does a flat screen tv have a good enough resolution to seem equivalent to a computer monitor? also, can an S-Video cable handle the data transfer from a video card to a TV when playing a very graphic demanding game?
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>
    <big>John</big>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Monitor failing?

    Most LCD tvs have a vertical resolution of 768 pixels, corresponding to a 15" computer monitor. A 17" monitor, which seems to be the "standard" at the moment, has a vertical resolution of 1024 pixels, that is 33% more.

    Not sure about the data rate, but I'd guess the video card is more important here than the cable.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Monitor failing?

    its a radeon 9800 pro, so it can handle the games, but i don't know how it handles the S-video. my tv at the moment is a flat CRT so it has regular tv [censor] resolution, i didn't know how well it would scale to something like maybe a 42"+ LCD (not that i'm getting one, too much <img src=/S/money.gif border=0 alt=money width=17 height=15>).

    my monitor that i'm used to at home is a 19" and i use 1280x1024 or the 1152x864.... but my games don't use that setting now that i think about it, they use the 1152x864 usually (maybe even the resolution under that(?))

    but then again, LCD tv's tend to be widescreen, don't they? <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15>
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>
    <big>John</big>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •