Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    'Package for the web' (XP Pro)

    I just got a new laptop and am trying to load all my software. Several programs I use have "updates", which I saved. I'm trying to run the *.exe file fo rmy updates and am getting a message that says something like "This product was intentded (something) Packaged from the Web and should not be installed." My only option is OK and then of course I cannot load my software. Does anyone know what this is and how do I disable it?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Package for the web' (XP Pro)

    is the software supposed to be able to be run on multiple computers? or are there licensing issues and only 1 'seat' allowed? if thats the case and you plan on using it only on the laptop you could attempt to contact the software company to allow you to transfer it. however its unlikely to work - i've tried this for windows XP because i wanted to get rid of it on an old computer and put it on a new one i made (after only a month of having it on the old one) and it couldn't be done according to the license, which I found out while talking to the tech support guy from MS. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15> luckily for me i was able to get a second license from my school for a total of $5 <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>
    <big>John</big>

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: 'Package for the web' (XP Pro)

    Provide more information about this product, i.e., name, OEM, and a link to the web site. If we have more information we MAY be able to provide some help.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Package for the web' (XP Pro)

    I don't think it's a licensing issue. I thought it was a Windows issue... something new in Windows???? I've never seen this message before. It is happening on any *.exe file from any software I've downloaded, i.e., the newest version of Ghostfill (document generation), the newest version of Cross Eyes, etc.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Package for the web' (XP Pro)

    Dave, I don't know what OEM is, sorry.it is ANY *.exe file I happen to have in my "downloads" folder. I don't think it is the software, I think (???) it's windows?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: 'Package for the web' (XP Pro)

    can you provide some links to the web pages where you downloaded these from?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 'Package for the web' (XP Pro)

    Charlotte,
    Can you give us the EXACT wording of the error message. As well, are you running any "security" type of software that may be generating these messages? If it's a new laptop, could it be some software installed by the manufacturer that is "protecting" you in some manner?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Package for the web' (XP Pro)

    See attached screen shot. I can go out to the websites and re-download all my software, but it takes a lot of time, that's why I saved it. Example: balancelog.exe from http://www.healthetech.com/balancelog/

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Package for the web' (XP Pro)

    John: it COULD be some security type software, I have no idea where to go to look for such a thing.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: 'Package for the web' (XP Pro)

    Per the user guide at that site you MUST have the "Startup.exe" file to INSTALL the program.
    But this also shows that it is being installed from a CD. In most cases the download uses the same files.

    Are you downloading the complete program of just the updates?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 'Package for the web' (XP Pro)

    Not very encouraging news Charlotte. It appears that you're not the only one with this problem, but the only thing that I could find that may come close to a solution is in this forum . Read the last two posts (by Michael Harris and DwK). Hope this helps.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Package for the web' (XP Pro)

    I was downloading the complete program... well, I'll pick up with this tomorrow, when I'm "fresher"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •