Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Frame Borders - IE

    A relatively "plain vanilla" frameset like this (excerpt only) produces borders in IE6 - but not in FF:

    <FRAMESET COLS="10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10" frameborder="0">

    <FRAMESET ROWS="10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10">
    <FRAME SRC="pix10.htm" frameborder="0" >
    <FRAME SRC="pix4.htm" frameborder="0" >
    <FRAME SRC="pix6.htm" frameborder="0" >
    <FRAME SRC="pix3.htm" frameborder="0" >
    <FRAME SRC="pix7.htm" frameborder="0">
    <FRAME SRC="pix3.htm" frameborder="0">
    <FRAME SRC="pix7.htm" frameborder="0">
    <FRAME SRC="pix4.htm" frameborder="0">
    <FRAME SRC="pix10.htm" frameborder="0">
    <FRAME SRC="pix1.htm" frameborder="0">
    </FRAMESET>.......

    Is this a "feature" of IE? I've tried a fair number of permutations and the borders (which are draggable!) persist. Are they ineradicable?
    Gre

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Frame Borders - IE

    Microsoft claims to support the frameborder attribute in IE, including "0" or "no" to prevent borders. (e.g., FRAMEBORDER Attribute | frameBorder Property (FRAME, FRAMESET, IFRAME) (Internet Explorer))

    Are you using a DOCTYPE on the page? Try using this one:

    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN"
    "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">

    (copied from Frames in HTML documents at the W3C site)

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Frame Borders - IE

    <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>Well, we got there! The issue was that well-known <img src=/S/sarcasm.gif border=0 alt=sarcasm width=15 height=15> framespacing attribute. "Standards Information: There is no public standard that applies to this property." The default turns out to be 2 (pixels). Re-setting the entire first line to read:

    <FRAMESET COLS="10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10,10" frameborder="0" framespacing=0>

    cures the entire page. Thanks very much!
    Gre

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Frame Borders - IE

    I'm curious whether these would work in its stead (combined or singly):

    <style type="text/css">
    frameset {padding: 0} /* No padding inside frameset */
    frame {margin: 0} /* No margin outside individual frames */
    </style>

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Frame Borders - IE

    Not AFAICS.... It's been some time, but I think either one or both were "dead ends" in my earlier attempts at debugging.

    BTW it turns out that if you list a row of classes with the same attributes (say background-image) in a separate CSS, FF will attempt to match against the first class in the list. If no match, then nothing is rendered.
    Gre

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •